What Relationships Look Like With Untreated BPD

Passionate, chaotic & toxic …

Zachary Phillips
Published in
4 min readJun 11, 2019

--

I am currently being treated for Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD).

Thankfully the treatment is working; my general functionality, mood, and relationships are all improving. I have now learnt how to manage, maintain and grow positive relationships, as well as how to appropriately handle the symptoms of BPD when they arise.

This certainly wasn’t always the case.

A look back over my past relationships reveals the common trend. They would all start with a slight interest that would quickly grow to an obsession.

I would find something about the person and fixate on it. I would then convince myself that she were special because of this trait. It made them particularly unique, different from the crowd, dangerous, rebellious, and intriguing.

Quickly I would find myself wanting to spend as much time with them as possible. At this stage, they would either embrace it or completely reciprocate the attention, or else they would become overwhelmed by it and distance themselves.

--

--

Zachary Phillips
Invisible Illness

Intuitive Guide. Poet. Shadow Hunter. Coach. I help entrepreneurs navigate dark nights of the soul & find peace.