VP of Sales

Francis Pedraza
Invisible
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2018

The right “VP of Sales” doesn’t need this job description, and won’t wake up in the morning with the thought “I am the VP of Sales at Invisible,” but with the thought: “Have we taken over the world yet?” The right person already called me, and told me these words:

Francis, there are two kinds of people in this world: clients and future clients. By the time I’m done with this job, there will only be one.

I have an invisible tattoo emblazoned on my forehead that says: HUSTLE HUSTLE, DEALS DEALS!!! Can you see it? My eyes are shining and I will always be closing. “The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.”

You have a huge waitlist. It is small compared to what I will do with it. At the pace at which you are solving supply problems, you will be supply-unblocked by the end of Q2. But I’m going to create so much demand for your company, you won’t be supply unblocked until 2020!

Your aggressive targets are my conservative targets. My aggressive targets are impossible for you to imagine. But that’s because I imagine targets that make my aggressive targets look conservative.

Before they even use your service, I will make companies pre-buy thousands of hours to move up on the waitlist. I will make your waitlist more famous than the Outbox Mail waitlist. Demand > supply!

My network is even bigger than yours. But I will mine the shit out of your network, your team’s network, and your investors networks. I will not rest until every small and medium sized business in America is on the waitlist. Once they are, I will go after the enterprise.

I will make enterprises compete to be the first clients to use the service. I will make your sales cycle look like a consumer app. I will structure deals that are so company-favorable that we are able to make millions of dollars up front, and buy our operations and technologies teams time to scale up to meet the demand.

Every company in the English speaking world is not enough. There are other countries, other languages, other markets. We must dominate them all! Tolerate no competition.

I will design the ultimate sales collateral for myself. I will work with our existing clients to surface insane testimonials and case studies.

I will give our clients the most incredible referral incentives they’ve ever had. I will find the most unbelievable channel partners, and they will give us insane distribution.

I will hire, train and manage a team of sales people that all want my job. Even as I train them to be better than me, they will never be better than me. Because I am improving myself at such a rapid rate, that no matter how fast they improve, they can’t keep up!

I will build systems to automate every aspect of sales, other than the moment of genius, the close! We will automate the prospecting, the outreach, the scheduling, the follow up, the note-taking… so that our schedules are full of meetings. We will do 12 meetings a day!

The sales team I will build will become famous for making legendary introductions that create value and trust and relationships that go far beyond the transaction itself. By the time our clients start using the service, they will have already benefited immeasurably from coming into contact with the company. We will build the ultimate mafia for the 21st century!

Ordinary sales people want a Christmas bonus. Great sales people want to drive a Ferrari. The best sales people want a mansion. But I want more. I want 1% of a trillion dollars. I want to automate all processes. I want to solve every problem. I want perfect efficiency. I want unlimited operational power at my fingertips. The problem is not that we desire too much, it is that we desire too little!

I am the unstoppable force. Show me the immovable object!

--

--