I Don’t Know, and Maybe I Would Never Know

A poem.

Bhavya Mehta
iPoetry
3 min readAug 18, 2023

--

Photo by Bakr Magrabi: https://www.pexels.com/photo/round-analog-compass-3385615/

I don’t know whether I should respond and fight back, or should I ignore and let go.

I don’t know if I should stick to what my religion preaches, or be a free bird and do whatever feels right.

I don’t know if I should be extremely particular about my routine, or if I should try to live a life full of spontaneity.

I don’t know if I should actively put in the effort to find the right people, or just focus on myself and hope I attract them on the way.

I don’t know if I should stay in one place and build a sustainable life around it, or just keep exploring till my heart feels full.

I don’t know if I spend all my energy being with my family and relatives or put that energy into friends that I might not even meet once a year.

I don’t know if I should eat healthily and stay away from all intoxications, or just experience whatever this universe has to offer.

I don’t know if I should let go of all that is gone or be optimistic that only if I want it enough everything that I have lost will circle back to me

I don’t know if I should focus on earning money and save as much as I can to have a stable future, or just splurge to buy all luxuries that money can buy.

I don’t know if I should lead a thoughtful conscious life, a life of minimalism, or indulge myself in all pleasures for which maybe humans have senses.

I don’t know if I put all of my soul into building a robust career, or if I go all in on my passions and hobbies that might take me on the best adventures I could imagine.

So if you get the point, we all fight such battles in our heads every day.

But the fact is we don’t know, and maybe we will never know.

Because no one way is right in this big big world.

And a lot of you guys might think, oh Bhavya it is not one way or other; it is all about balance, and yes, I agree, but balance is not fun. From where I see balance brings stability, and stability brings mediocrity, and I don't wish to be mediocre.

Read that again

Balance brings stability, and stability brings mediocrity, and I don’t wish to be mediocre — Bhavya Mehta

For people like me, we need to find what works for us, every now and then we need to tip the balance to go experience the extremes and if we don’t like them, we can always be back and look for that balance.

So, happy hunting, folks, and to everyone who has these battles going on in their head, we got this. We all are going to win :D

If you liked this piece you should also read these too

I Wish It Was Easier

I Have Been Looking For You

Resilience — A Poem About Loss

Also, thank you for taking the time to read this. If you ever want to talk about anything under or beyond the sky or have suggestions about my article, drop a comment below. You can also reach out to me on Telegram, LinkedIn, or Instagram.

Finally, if you wish for me to continue writing and want to support me, you can buy me a coffee here. Support Bhavya.

--

--

Bhavya Mehta
iPoetry

Web3 Developer | Freelancer | Writing my heart out here