Waiting for a miracle

a love poem

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2024

--

Photo by Michael McAuliffe on Unsplash

I must have fallen on the highway
with the highwayman they say
waiting for a miracle
waiting for that day they say

I must have been waiting
waiting too long for the lover’s sweet sweet song in blades of Whitman’s sweet leaves of green green grass
waiting for the day they say

I must have been living, living for the day
waiting, waiting there while I pray
at the Western Wall
where we all feel small they say

I must have been in your dreams
living in the naked truth
in between eternity and the sands of time

that I waited to evaporate into the future
that never came
awaiting a miracle
waiting for a miracle
again
they say…

Baby, I’ve been waiting
I’ve been waiting night and day
I didn’t see the time
I waited half my life away
There were lots of invitations
And I know you sent me some
But I was waiting
For the miracle, for the miracle to come

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
iPoetry

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson