#ITProsWhoCare Spotlight — Maria from Texas

Zsuzsa Kohanecz
ITpros Who Care
Published in
4 min readMay 28, 2015

--

Welcome to our ITProsWhoCare Spotlight series. This is an ongoing collection of posts that features members of our Community.

In our last release we learnt about George and his vision to a peaceful and healthy world.

In this release please meet Maria from Texas— whose vision is about a world where people enjoy more of what they already have.

Without further ado and a big drum roll to another member of #ITProsWhoCare, here is her interview with us:

#charity: What gets you up in the morning? What is your life motto?
Maria: My kitty and a warm cup of coffee with a lot of milk. My life motto: nothing is permanent. This applies to everything, good and bad. You may plan ahead, but when you least expect it life surprises you and brings you unexpected opportunities to change.

#charity: Describe the world you want your children to grow up in.
Maria: I would like them to live in a more balanced world. Where our resources are distributed more equally; where people want less, and enjoy more of what they already have; where they have the ability to examine their own lives, talents, beliefs and circumstances, and find the opportunities to help and give to others.

#charity: What skills are you offering to the #charity NGOs?
Maria: As a business analyst I can help non-profits or individuals to find solutions to their organizations’ needs. I help evaluate and optimize processes, analyze needs from many various angles, and then provide potential solutions. I also work with developers to translate the needs of the business into working tools and solutions.

As a business analyst I can help non-profits or individuals to find solutions to their organizations’ needs.

#charity: Why are you here? What motivated you to support the #charity community?
Maria: When I first read about #charity it immediately caught my attention. It is a brilliant idea to gather IT needs and IT professionals in such a form. In the IT field — especially if you are experienced and most of what you do has become a routine — it is easy to get caught up in daily work without realizing how much value you can offer outside your day-job using the same skills. #charity sheds a light on how valuable our knowledge can be to help and make a measurable difference. And I am happy to see how many like-minded people are out there!

#charity: Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your story? What was a truly life transforming or meaningful moment in your life so far?
Maria: I am a Hungarian who currently lives in Austin, TX, where I moved five years ago. Moving to a different country this far alone was a life transforming experience. Leaving my family, friends and everything I knew behind was a hard adjustment, but I think it is valuable to face those challenges. Living abroad expanded my view of the world in ways you cannot learn in your home country. I have always enjoyed exploring different countries, but here I began to question things I used to take for granted and started to see the world from a very different perspective. I have developed a deeper appreciation for cultural differences. The more I learn, the more I understand not only about the American lifestyle, but also about my native Hungarian culture.
It is a very challenging, but also very rewarding journey, that even after five years keeps teaching me new things. If anybody out there has a similar opportunity don’t think twice and take it!

#charity: Where did you learn about #charity?
Maria: Jozsef Czapovics, the CEO of #charity, and I used to work at the same company. I read an interview with him about the initiative on a Hungarian business website (http://www.uzletresz.hu)

#charity: Anything else you want to leave the #charity community with?
Maria: I am glad to be part of this team! It is a wonderful charity organization that can make significant differences for multiple charities and multiple great causes. I am looking forward to seeing #charity’s growth and accomplishments in the future!

Do you think you have many things in common with Maria? Join at hashtagcharity.org and help us build further the Community of One Million ITProsWhoCare!

--

--