#ITProsWhoCare Spotlight — Rasti from Croatia

Zsuzsa Kohanecz
ITpros Who Care
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2015

--

Welcome to our ITProsWhoCare Spotlight series. This is an ongoing collection of posts that features members of our Community.

In our last release we learnt about Josh whose goal is to stay busy all day with the things that matter most in life.

In this release please meet Rasti from Croatia who is always ready to seize the opportunity to help others.

Without further ado and a big drum roll to another member of #ITProsWhoCare, here is her interview with us:

#charity: What gets you up in the morning? What is your life motto?

Rasti: All the things that I want to do. At the end of the day you see what you have done and the people you have met, you know that you have so many more things to do (at least I do) ☺. This motto is with me for a long time and I learned it when I started to volunteer: “Who if not You, When if not Now!”

#charity: Describe the world you want your children to grow up in.

Rasti: A world without wars, pain, hunger, disease. Where everyone is humble to help and support others because together we can achieve more.

#charity: What skills are you offering to the #charity NGOs?

Rasti: I have a mixture on both sides: non-profit and business. I can help any NGOs to develop on a sustainable level — by thinking and develop strategically, writing proposals and implementing projects, as well as developing trainings and workshops.

#charity: Why are you here? What motivated you to support the #charity community?

Rasti: I saw a great potential of what #charity wants to do and wanted to support it.

This motto is with me for a long time and I learned it when I started to volunteer: “Who if not You, When if not Now!”

#charity: Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your story? What was a truly life transforming or meaningful moment in your life so far?

Rasti: I started to volunteer back in 2002 and the moment was a coffee with a woman who became a colleague, a friend, a coach, a mentor. That coffee changed all and I’m here where I am, and I’m doing what I’m doing because of that coffee. I started to volunteer on a project which focus was youth empowerment and it was magical. At the same time I was always in the business industry too. However everything that I learned in the NGO was more than helpful in business and vice versa which developed my design thinking skills, too. I have many interests and I’m always keen to learn and discover more. I’m really good at noticing a gap/bottleneck and to find and/or create a solution.

#charity: Where did you learn about #charity?

Rasti: It was an article at The Chronicle of Philanthropy and I searched for Jozsef at LinkedIn, have sent a request to connect and here we are ☺

#charity: Anything else you want to leave the #charity community with?

Rasti: You are great and keep doing it. A big change is coming ☺ Looking forward to working with all the ITPros and to develop something really good.

You can tweet @rasti.nikolic under #ITproRasti this week for questions, to meet her locally if you are around or just to say hi ☺

Do you think you have many things in common with Rasti? Join at hashtagcharity.org and help us build further the Community of One Million ITProsWhoCare!

--

--