BOOKS | READING

Enough of *Watching* Netflix; Let’s Get to *Reading* Netflix

I can’t be more excited about the new set of books I purchased.

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY

--

It’s been long — not so long, though — since I purchased a new set of books.

But they have arrived now and I can’t be any more excited.

Picture of four books.
I’m still to discover what this frog book is all about.

The last time I batch-purchased more than a couple of books was back in July. I even wrote an article on the same.

It has been a long time and no see for new books and me. There is only one book on my rack that I haven’t read until now. It’s Arthashastra by Kautilya. That shouldn’t come as a surprise given its sheer length and complexity.

Apart from that, I have either completed all of them, skimmed them, or quit. All of them are totally fine. No shame here.

Why are books so different from the last time?

If you read the article I hypertexted in the first line, you will notice the overall theme of this purchase can’t be any more different than the last one.

Why is it so? Honestly, I don’t know that myself.

It’s just what I am currently finding interesting. However, that Netflix one was long on my wishlist.

The moment I spotted it on a deal, I ordered it, thanks to the festive season going on here in India. I have already read some portions of it via Kindle and Scribd. I’m excited about this one nevertheless.

Last time the theme was more philosophical but this time it is centred around business and productivity.

I like the diversity in the books I read and this way I can read more without facing any burnout or getting bored.

Closing thoughts

Reading lots of different books is more like therapy. It complements what I do alongside it. It keeps my mind fresh.

It’s the most focused way of content consumption that requires the most effort to put in to gain value out of it. That is why I can’t stop recommending everyone to read books.

That’s it for this article. See you soon. And, keep reading!

Subscribe to my (free) weekly newsletter about books, writing, and storytelling, with a pinch of history sometimes.

--

--

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY

I write to EXPLORE as much as I write to EXPRESS. 6x top writer. newsletter: vritant.substack.com