Writing on Medium Has Gradually Changed Me

a personal story to relive those old days

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY
3 min readMar 8, 2023

--

Photo by Ben Sweet on Unsplash

I always had a knack for writing. Be it writing poems, short stories or articles, I loved it. Writing felt like the easiest thing to do. Words would flow and with that, a feeling of accomplishment.

Most of my friends would awe at my writing skills. I am not telling you to brag about myself. That’s the least of my concerns. Anyway, it felt good, but I never knew I’d continue to write after so long.

I couldn’t have imagined that I would write with so much passion, even after it’s no longer a necessity. I don’t write leave applications, essays, thought of the day, or debate outlines for different school activities I took part in anymore.

I could easily have given up on writing. Aren’t there finer things in life to run after? Apparently, no! Not for me at least.

Damn, I can’t even think what my strengths would be if not for writing. It has got me interested in reading, and computers and acted as a gateway to I don’t know how many unknown worlds.

It was because I wanted to improve my writing that I read books like Woe Is I by Patricia O’Conner.

It was because I wanted to write articles faster that I learnt how to type without looking at the keyboard aka touch-typing. My current speed is around 60 wpm.

Writing has acted as a stage to express myself.

Whether it was writing about if I got a reply from a metaverse company to writing about meeting founders of multi-million dollar companies to sharing the story of how I got published in India’s biggest science magazine. I have written about a variety of topics.

But they are more than ‘niches’ to me. They are my calming element. Writing helps me observe, immerse, and then have a bird’s eye view of it all. Doing all that while sharing learning, story, mistakes, and lessons with the whole world.

How cool is that?!

But nothing would have been a reality if not for Medium. I am glad I found this platform when I was reading Netflix Technology Blog one fine day.

I don’t know why I so distinctly remember how it all started. Maybe it was meant to be that way.

I hadn’t written with so much interest on any platform ever. I attempted WordPress and all the other flashy stuff, yet I ended up disappointed.

Fast-forward around 2 years, the phase is filled with so many sweet memories. The friends I made here, and the opportunity to edit some of the coolest writers through my publication, theMUSINGS, among others.

Now it’s time to grow. To up the level. To write not just for my own self-interest, but to add value to the lives of people who read my works.

How can I improve myself while helping others out? What can I learn from all the cool writers out there?

Let’s explore.

That’s been my mantra from the very beginning. I don’t know if anything gives me more happiness than the dopamine hit I get from learning something new and sharing my own perspective on it.

It’s so damn fulfilling. It feels so worth it. Let’s keep writing, reading and building!

How has Medium changed you as a writer? I’d love to know :)

If you enjoyed this, subscribe to White Space — for insightful resources and tricks to grow as a digital writer.

The playlist I’m listening to while writing and editing this piece:

don’t forget to put some nice music on while you write :)

--

--

Vritant Kumar
SERENDIPITY

I write to EXPLORE as much as I write to EXPRESS. 6x top writer. newsletter: vritant.substack.com