Japanese Communication Style: the Nightmare Between the Lines

When indirect communication leads to direct misunderstandings

Olivia F
Japonica Publication

--

Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

I lived in Japan for over two years and have experienced many things there, including amazing ones like the perfect Japanese date, but one thing that always frustrated me was the indirect communication style.

What I love about Japanese communication style

First, let me share with you some of the bright sides of the Japanese communication style because, despite the title of this story, there are some positives you can definitely learn from.

  • You rarely face fights and arguments.
  • You learn how to listen carefully.
  • You pay more attention to people’s feelings.
  • You practice non-violent communication.
  • You practice self-control and take things less personally.

What I struggled with about the Japanese communication style

At work:

I worked in an international environment with mostly foreign colleagues. Only my boss and a few colleagues were Japanese, and I was guided by a senior colleague who helped me slowly understand…

--

--

Olivia F
Japonica Publication

Multilingual creative lawyer currently based in Melbourne and lived in Tokyo for more than 2y. Interested in minimalism, environment, cultures, self-love…