iOS Dev Setup: Customize your terminal

Jen Hamilton
I, Developer
Published in
5 min readFeb 19, 2017

--

iTerm + zsh + Prezto + Powerlevel9k

This post is part of an ongoing series on setting up an iOS development environment.

iTerm (Chalkboard theme), zsh via Prezto (Powerline9k theme), DejaVu Sans Mono for Powerline Nerd Font Complete

Over time, I’ve tweaked my terminal to provide a good deal of relevant information that’s easy to parse, right when and where I need it. At the end of the day, I have a system where I can easily tell which version control system I’m using, which branch I’m in, and my status (files unstaged, files staged but not commited, etc). I can quickly navigate to to other branches or files using auto-completion and suggestion that’s built into zsh/Prezto. iTerm allows me to open multiple tabs, switch profiles on the fly, and easily update and tweak the look of my terminal. iTerm, zsh, and Prezto do much, much more. Also — it just looks good.

This post will cover how I’ve customized the look and functionality of my terminal. There are infinite combinations, the following is simply the way I’ve currently configured…

--

--