iOS Dev Setup: Sublime Text

Jen Hamilton
I, Developer
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2017

--

This post is part of an ongoing series on setting up an iOS development environment.

Default SublimeText theme ‘Amy’

Installation

Download and install SublimeText directly from the website. Sublime is free to download and evaluate, but should be purchased for continued use. I say should because while you can evaluate indefinitely, a lot of work went into Sublime and supporting excellent work means more goodies for all. If you are not able to purchase at the time of download, you will see an occasional pop-up requesting the user purchase Sublime.

Preferences → Settings allows fine-grained control of your Sublime installation. Read the comments for each setting, and adjust to fit your needs.

Command Line Integration

Inflammatory statement: I use SublimeText as my editor of choice. Yes, I know that ‘real’ developers use vim or emacs (and which one is “better” is another fight I chose not to fight), but I don’t do enough editing on the command line to make it worth investing time to learn all the key bindings. I’d much rather be refactoring or doing a deep-dive into a new iOS SDK.

So — to setup your command line terminal to use Sublime as your editor, paste this line into either your .bash_profile or .zshsrc file, and restart your terminal.

--

--