Biarritz — The Kauai of France 🇫🇷

A primer on this chic, yet quaint French surf-town nestled by the Atlantic Ocean.

Jezebel Feast
Jezebel’s Feast

--

What do you imagine when you think of Biarritz?

The name itself carries an air of flamboyance and elegance. Faint recollections of mid-century movie stars vacationing... no?

And wasn’t there something to do with royalty once upon a time?

Must have been pleasurable to be an 18th-century empress that happened upon the stunning beaches… and had the resources to demand to have a “summer home” built. I use the term “home” lackadaisically, seeing as it is clearly a palace. Now called the Hôtel du Palais.

If you are like me, that’s about all she wrote. I knew nothing of Biarritz, other than it is on the French side of the Basque region. Once frequented by movie stars and royals no one speaks of anymore.

I arrived this past summer after visiting San Sebastian, just forty-five minutes South, with no idea I was to discover one of my favorite places on Earth.

--

--

Jezebel Feast
Jezebel’s Feast

I quit my job to design & live a sustainable lifestyle. Would you like to join me? ➡️ Visit me at my new home www.jezebelsfeast.com … 🌈👣🗺🌎⏳🪐🌙 🚀