Getting the word out, automation, and a request for ideas (Week 4)

Matt Webb
Job Garden Blog
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2018

There’s a new feature this week but it’s not publicly visible. Here’s the private view:

This is on my profile page, which is visible only to me

And here’s the tweet that was auto-posted.

I’ve been adding automation. An automatic task sends out a tweet, as if from me, every Tuesday morning. It’s the same “Suggested Tweet” as I built last week.

The purpose of Job Garden is to assist the people who know about great jobs, like me, in getting the word out.

For example, some current positions in London:

  • Unmade, which is upending the apparal supply chain by controlling industrial knitting machines over the internet, is looking for a CTO. Check it out.
  • Tech Will Save Us, which makes a range of electronics kits to entertain and educate kids (with a new partnership with Disney), is hiring a VP Marketing. See open roles.
  • There’s also operations at CupClup and business development at Winnow both mission-driven companies tackling waste

If I want to find great individuals for these great roles, it’s no good waiting for job-hunters to visit the website. You gotta fish where the fish are.

So, one good way to tell the world is tweeting from my personal account.

Here’s my request for your ideas: how else can I get the word out?

Anything I can automate is interesting.

One idea: in the old days I would have built a tool to update my email signature. But sigs aren’t that visible anymore.

So that’s what I’m thinking about this week. Ideas welcome.

--

--