Katsuhi Social 2018

Edith Puclla
Katsuhi Social
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2019

This year I made Katsuhi Social long in advance, the event was with a larger call, September was chosen as the month of Katsuhi Social in 2018.

Are you wondering what is Katsuhi Social?

Katsuhi Social is an initiative to promote reading as a recreational activity in children with limited economic resources, it aims to encourage critical thinking, reading comprehension and encourage values, including companionship, mutual help, and empathy. While this project is initially aimed at children, who want to participate is more than welcome, age is not an impediment”. Read Katsuhi Social 2017

I saw that the number of children exceeded the previous year so I bought many more books and did the program more formal and this time we had more volunteers (My family is included).

We are good children! Definitely one of the funniest days of my life!

You can find the program structure HERE! You can use it to replicate it in your community, write to me if I can help with anything.

I added dynamic games that helped me build trust with the children. I coordinated with the children’s parents who helped me a lot.

The most beautiful part was the sharing of knowledge, when children who knew how to read, did so for children who were still learning. This is my favorite photo! :)

The patience and encouragement of the volunteers were gratifying. They were children again.

Peer greeting
Spontaneous theater
The sun was not an impediment to continue reading

What I saw in children this time was more freedom to speak their minds and less fear of expressing themselves in front of other children.

Finally, the activity ended with a delicious fruit salad sharing. It was really wonderful!

Thank you, mom, for helping me with this.

Waiting for Katsuhi Social 2019…

--

--

Edith Puclla
Katsuhi Social

Software Engineer at 42 Silicon Valley | Computer addict | Container Enthusiast, interested in DevOps, Cloud, ML, and IoT.