On Life #1

On Rest

There is a war on resting in this fast-paced, busy and information-laden world

Words by Egypt
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

--

woman lying on a tree taking a nap and resting
Photo by Katie Moum on Unsplash

There is a war on resting in a world riddled with busyness and an overflowing to-do list. It’s time to opt-out and heal our nervous systems

The world doesn’t allow ample time to rest anymore. Why would anyone rest when there is so much to do, learn, and be entertained by?

I’m writing this after spending all night awake. I slept around 5.30 am this morning. This was outside my normal sleep rhythm, but I got caught up in a flurry of activities.

That declined into me being sucked into a wormhole of watching existential and societal debates on all manner of themes online. Let’s say I’m not always a ninja in being disciplined and steadfast with healthy living. Life happens.

Anyway, waking up today not feeling clear-minded and rested evokes thoughts on the value of rest and sleep in particular.

I feel we live in a culture that doesn’t celebrate a rested life. The world is getting faster and more busy by the minute. Success is painted as a life filled with busyness, rushing around, late nights, and sleep deprivation.

Rest and sleep are seen as luxury activities, or seen as lazy and self-indulgent. Why is this so? Are we not human? Is rest not necessary for our optimal health and vitality? Why do I live in a world where I sometimes feel I have to explain my need to slow down, simplify, and take it easy?

“We must believe we are worthy of rest. We don’t have to earn it. It is our birthright. It is one of our most ancient and primal needs.”
Tricia Hersey, Rest Is Resistance: A Manifesto

It’s like there is a war on rest. As Tricia Hersey writes it in her book “Rest” as activism:

“You were not just born to center your entire existence on work and labor. You were born to heal, to grow, to be of service to yourself and community, to practice, to experiment, to create, to have space, to dream, and to connect.”
Tricia Hersey, Rest Is Resistance: A Manifesto

I don’t want to live a life where I’m haunted by my never-ending to-do list. Where there isn’t enough time in the day to make nourishing meals, take slow walks, or create art.

I want to slowly co-create with the universe a life where I can be afforded ample time to relax, nap, sleep, and slowly nourish my body and soul. Rest isn’t this foul thing that we should be encouraged to shy away from.

Living a rested life allows one to live a life filled with energy, mental clarity, and intention. This is the life I want to live

Writer’s note: This essay is part of my experimental writing series, On Life. Here, I explore briefly different facets of life in a stream-of-consciousness manner. I’m doing this to crystallize my thoughts on the different topics and as a way to diary my thoughts on them.

I started this because I felt not every article has to be written in an overly structured manner to influence readers, organise my thinking or make a definite point. With this series, I want to allow my thoughts to be expressed in a more organic writing style. Some writing can be left more fluid and used as an avenue to “clean our minds” and document our thoughts on themes.

--

--

Words by Egypt
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt