You Exist for a Reason…

A poem

Jessica M
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself
2 min readOct 15, 2023

--

A collage created by me with the theme of a Sleeping at Last album cover (2022)

Your rare and beautiful existence is alike,
To the cosmos carefully interwoven with the earth,
A dance of both distance and,
Comforting familiarity.

The first droplet of a wild,
And raw quaking storm.
Brewing on the horizon.

You label yourself as limited.
Ever confined by the cage of time,
Yet the butterfly was once reborn,
From it’s cocoon.

Your body is the multifaceted sun,
pouring through glass,
Broken into pieces,
but also a whole.
An infinite everlasting.
What a powerful possibility you are…

This poem was inspired by the publication ‘Know Thyself, Heal Thyself’ themed poetry challenge https://medium.com/know-thyself-heal-thyself/themed-poetry-challenge-month-2-prompt-2-8fca4459227d with a prompt inspired by the Sleeping At Last song ‘Saturn’ and the one statement from the lyrics of this song ‘How rare and beautiful it is to even exist’

Fortunately I’ve actually created a album cover collage design in 2022 for one of Sleeping At Last’s album’s and so the image of this poem is my collage.

Thank you for reading my poem. If you enjoyed my writing, I would be grateful if you could interact or if you’re interested I have written several other poems:

--

--

Jessica M
Know Thyself, Heal Thyself

Cat fosterer/ mental health advocate/ spiritual / creative / Autistic Expressing myself and my experiences through poetry /