A Newsletter From Know Yourself #12

The Writing Prompts You Don’t Know About

Jonathan Greene
Know Yourself
4 min readOct 4, 2020

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Welcome to the monthly (every other monthly) newsletter from Know Yourself. Know Yourself is a publication full of writing prompts, brought to you by Assemblage, that serves as a guide to helping you understand yourself better. It’s here for all writers, all the time.

We now have 70 prompts to choose from when you need a little help getting through a bout of writer’s block or if you just want to write and want someone to tell you what to write about. It’s not difficult. Write a story. Write a poem. Write a response. Write a letter. But write something.

These newsletters go out once a month (and sometimes every other month) on Sundays and highlight all of the responses we’ve had in the past month. It also previews the new writing prompt for the next month, but feel free to use any prompt, any time.

Responses to Our Writing Prompts Since the Last Newsletter

This Is The Lie I Tell Every Day by Jonathan Greenea response to #13. What are you currently lying to certain people around you about?

“Every day someone asks me how I am or how I’m doing or how’s it going and I always answer “good”. Let me be unequivocally clear about my answer. It is a bald-faced lie. I just generally do not want to talk about how ungood I am doing. You too?”

If I Could Go Back, Here’s What I’d Change About My Education by Lark Morrigana response to #68. If you could go back, what would you like to change about your education?

“Not worrying about failing a class or being ranked below my peers academically would’ve given me extra confidence to approach people and get involved on campus. Engaging both my mathematical and linguistic side would’ve made me feel like I’m a multi-talented person who is more prepared to face the real world. I’m sure I’d be happier right now if I went back and had chosen this path instead.”

My Choices Are Not About You by Jessica Lee McMillana response to #62. What is something not many people understand about you?

“It is a relief to see younger generations who would simply shrug at all of this because they are normalizing more diverse identities and lifestyles in a really visible way. It’s something that makes me think we really are evolving.”

Giving Time by Samantha Lazar — a response to #1. What are, or would be, my faults as a parent?

“If you are a teacher-mom like me, then you must be tired. I spend all day with a very life-consuming job. Teaching takes a serious toll on my stamina for kid energy. I need a lot of alone time. This is my reality. I don’t want to play Mario Cart when I get home from work. After I rip my mask and work clothes off, and shower the day away, I just want to be fed and then left alone.”

Mom, Is That You? by Jonathan Greenea response to #57. Describe your earliest memory.

“It’s hard to imagine
a memory earlier than you
since there is no me
without you”

If I Found Out I’d Die A Year From Now, Here’s How I’d Spend The Next 365 Days by Lark Morrigana response to #18. If you found out you would die in a year, describe what you would do for the next 365 days.

“And from this approach, I’ve learned that I do not need to distract myself with seeing beyond a year because what needs to be done immediately is all I have control over. Things will change so much after a year that many plans I make would become irrelevant.”

I Wish I May, I Wish I Might, I Wish to Make a Change for Myself Tonight by Estrella Ramireza response to #64. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be and why?

“Over the past year, I have made decisions based on what I want.
On the top of that list is to not have so many regrets, leaving the what-ifs behind. By choosing this path, I get closer and closer to making my wish come true.”

Photo by David Travis on Unsplash

Our Monthly Writing Prompt

#44. Write about the friend that moved away.

All you have to do is write an answer. Anything. No more, no less. Get to know yourself and allow us to get to know you in the process. Let it out of you and leave it on the page.

The Goal

Once the publication starts filling up (we are almost there), the homepage will be segmented by each prompt so that readers can take a deep dive into an important life question but from many different viewpoints. This is where it’s going to get fun.

Request to Write for Know Yourself

We are open to all writers who want to get to know themselves. The only requirements are that you answer the writing prompt, you code the subtitle of your story to fit our guidelines (Know Yourself #), and the first header of your story is the question posed by the writing prompt. This is so readers can easily find consistent pieces on the same prompt. Look at how other stories look to see how yours should.

If you want to write for this publication, please fill out the form here. However, if you write for Illumination, Illumination-Curated, The Innovation, Never Fear, or An Idea you will not be added.

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Know Yourself

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com