Why I Stopped Helping People and You Should Too

Cammi Pham
The Unlearner
Published in
6 min readDec 8, 2015

--

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

BY CAMMI PHAM — First appeared on my personal blog

My mother taught me never to give unsolicited advice, nor try to help anyone unless they ask you for it. I always thought that maybe she was just cold. As I get older, I have started to realize that she was right. My mother is one of the kindest people in my life.

Society always emphasizes on the need to help people. I do it too.

They tell you that you should help people unconditionally and when they least expect it. None of that is, of course, wrong. Random acts of kindness can change a person’s life in many instances. However, there is a flip side to every coin. And it is essential not to mask the other half of the impact of any such gesture.

Photo by Alex on Unsplash

Not everything is bad. Same as, not everything is good. There is the good in bad. And there is the bad in good. It’s not necessarily the worst idea to help people. But it’s also neither a great one. And here are the 3 cases where I personally stopped helping people and recommend that you should too:

1. Stop Helping People Who Don’t Deserve Your Help

--

--

Cammi Pham
The Unlearner

Unlearner. Marketer. Partner @ Growth + eCommerce Marketing Agency @ThinkRenegade | Write www.cammipham.com hi@cammipham.com