What Is Really Happening When We Feel Someone’s Energy?

Jake Hilden
Less Stress More Success
4 min readAug 9, 2021

--

For many years, I was under the impression that we can take on people’s energy.

I’ve always thought this was true for me. I’m a highly sensitive guy and one thing that I’ve noticed is that I usually feel in a low mood if someone else is in a low mood around me.

When I was a police officer, this was difficult because of constantly being around people in dark moments and I was thinking that I was feeling that energy constantly.

Since coming across the three principles understanding, I’ve been exploring this a bit deeper. It’s completely changed everything.

Let’s Get Curious

The most profound insight that I’ve had since coming across the three principles was that we can only feel our thinking and that is it. Period. We absolutely cannot have a feeling without a thought present.

I’ve seen this to be true in many different ways in my life. Anytime that I have an emotion of some kind, I can relate it to thinking that I am having.

I’ve seen that if I am in a low mood, I am having thoughts that are of low quality — and vice versa.

Check out my other article here where I discuss this further.

--

--