June Monthly Review

Yunzhe Zhou
Life Projects
Published in
3 min readJul 6, 2019

“What if we believed in ourselves without wavering, like how we believe that toddlers who fall down again and again could walk?”

Notes:

What a beautiful month. Looking back, it feels like a dream, when I was living in reality versus the other way (daydreaming to escape reality). I feel like I’m in paradise, especially with simple living 🌻

REFLECTIONS 🎉

Highlights from the past month

  1. What was your biggest accomplishment this month?

Shifting my mindset from “they’ll find me if they really want it” to putting myself out there and powerfully serving clients — I’m really proud of myself that such aligned clients enrolled in my Get Unstuck program!

2. What was your peak experience this month?

Spending all the days and nights with my partner :). I feel such a sense of contentness, gratitude and true happiness.

3. What main challenge did you face this month?

Letting go of time. Quality time is my love language, and I’ve also realized how it’s been holding me back from truly enjoying the present. Sometimes I’m so stringent on it that it makes me anxious. I’m slowly learning to allowing myself the space to ease into new environments, and letting myself to take it slow + adjust during the first week, especially when traveling.

4. What do you want to do less of and more of to balance your life?

Less of “doing”: checking off tasks and routines.

More of “being”: nurturing my mindset and being in the present. Because both are so incredibly important, and my “being” affects my “doing”. The best coaches are present and attentive to their clients. Sometimes that’s all I need to do for a powerful experience.

5. What is your favorite discovery this month?

Nonviolent communication! During one of my sessions with my own coach, I found it so difficult to be come up words to be assertive — because I’ve been relying on passive communication, without even realizing it.

Here’s an example sentence stem: I feel _____ when you ______. I’d like to _______.

FUN GOODIES 🎈

things that have captured my interest

Books I read:

Productivity experiments:

  • When traveling, having one day for waking up normal or late and one day for waking up early to easefully adjust while still being productive

Quotes on careers

  • Here’s a myth: Hard work is what makes money vs. Money is made by how we think and the value we add
  • What do you need to think, feel, do now that’ll get you to the future you (want)?
  • You only want the thing because of how it would make you feel, and in order to achieve it, you need to feel that feeling now
  • What are you using as an excuse to not believe?

Questions I’m pondering

  • If retirement is doing things you actually want to be doing — how can I have that now?
  • When can I get there? When is it enough? Will I ever get there? Am I already there?

JUNE HABIT PROJECT: Connecting with 100 people ✅

I ended up connecting with way more :). A huge lesson that I learned and am so grateful for is that the consultation calls don’t have to be scripted. When I let go of expectations and outcomes, that’s when I can really be there for potential clients.

PLANNING ✏️

Intentions and goals for the upcoming month

The most important business priority is:

Fully move into freelance writing in addition to coaching as part of my ideal lifestyle.

The most important personal priority is:

Adjust to being back home again and figure out what I want to spend those extra hours on.

My July project is:

30 days of flexibility. It’s been a while since I’ve stretched (don’t forget me splits!) and I’m getting the feeling that I haven’t been stretching myself past my comfort zone lately (pun intended haha). This will be good for me to prepare to get back into creative dancing as well as work on my personal progress 💃🏽

This is the end of my monthly review for June, thanks so much for reading!

--

--

Yunzhe Zhou
Life Projects

Designing life through monthly action plans. For how you you can get started on a side project, get the toolkit here: bit.ly/12sideprojects