2015 : Year of 3 P’s — Passion, Patience and Persistence

Misbah Ashraf
Be Yourself
Published in
4 min readFeb 18, 2016

--

Behind every great business, epic billion dollar startup and iconic individual is a lifetime of hustle.

After shutting down my venture in November 2014. I have never stopped hustling to learn and grow myself. Here is a small story about my experience while building this amazing venture with my amazing friends.

Me, Sagar and Rhythm. Utkarsh( The coolest guy of the team is missing in this pic )

My friends moved back to their college to resume the degree. Hope we will meet soon at some corner of our life again to join hands for disruption again with more confidence. Since, I couldn’t move back to the college that time and I had free time to utilise till I can resume my college.

I accidently jumped into a New Haven Based Early stage startup, Spangle as Chief Growth Officer. Here is small news about our launch in India.

Every life is a series of defining moments. Moments that shape and change us, and have a huge impact on our development and our choices. And, this is how I started my year 2015.

Trying to focus on what I did and what I want to do in the next year, but thoughts always straying to the problems lingering on the day to day basis or just whatever is on my mind. It’s more of a symbolical gesture to myself than anything else.

Here is a small summary of year 2015 :

  • Joined Spangle and helped them to acquire first few thousands users by working directly with CEO and design team. I have done every unconventional things to make this happen.
  • Advised Meed to evolve the product into the community while working closely with Founders on product side.
  • Turned my friend side project Hackr into a successful product launch by using Product Hunt, Reddit and other tech communities.
  • Worked with Hatcher, A Singapore based VC firm. I have worked closely with one of their portfolio startup Keygo from the scratch. Sitting in their HQ, designing the mockups and product flow from the scratch to doing successful beta testing to collect maximum feedback about the product in the community.
Team Keygo, Hatcher HQ, Singapore

2015 has been a crazy and eventful year, to say the least. Grateful for all the insane opportunities I’ve gotten and all the brilliant minds I’ve been lucky enough to meet and surround myself with. Everything moved so fast and it feels like this year passed by in a split second.

Thanks to my amazing mentors cum friends Amit Agarwal, Prateek Gupta and Piyush Gupta.

I have learned it hard way — the 3 P’s of pillar of Success.

  • You have to be passionate enough to learn something new daily.
  • Life is a marathon. It is not a 400 metre race. You have to be persistence in your bad and good time both. Neither your bad time should affect your passion to learn and grow nor your good time hinders your attitude for persistence in your life.

The best players were not the ones who could play well in good conditions, they were the ones who could play well in all conditions. It takes mental fortitude on those days to play well.

  • Third and the most important. Patience.

You can’t have an ocean in seconds. It takes time to make it happen. Every small drop add together to fill the ocean.

Where I’m heading in 2016 :

  • Resumed my college to complete my degree.
  • Exploring around new ideas and looking for kickass team solving real life problems.

Started learning prototyping. Thanks Vibhas for assisting me in learning Sketch and Principle for prototyping my ideas.

If you are looking for someone who can help you with product based growth or assist you in validating your idea. Write to me anytime at misbah.ashraf786@gmail. I am always open to help out Hustlers and change makers.

P.S. Thanks for reading this far! If you found value in this, I’d really appreciate it if you recommend this post (by clicking the ❤ button) so other people can see it!.

--

--

Co-Founder @JarAppHQ with @agnishchay ✨ Recently, Built @marsplayapp (Acq.)💰 Previous lives at @thecibola 💥