My shift from being a leader to a follower

a gentle reminder of the importance of being a good follower

Alan Trivedi
3 min readApr 8, 2014

The Event

I recently found a new passion for road biking or cycling as it’s called in the circles. I started to ride with a cycling group in preparation for an event slated for May 10, 2014. The event offers different riding distances varying from 10 to 100 miles. Initially, I chose to try 62 miles because, well, it just seemed like a big challenge. The group was divided into different levels depending on the distance we were riding and the speed at which we rode. The first day we all rode the same route in order to be evaluated. At the end of the eval one particular group leader, Colin, approached me and said, “why don’t you ride the 100 mile route?”. “That seems like a lot, not sure if I can ride with that group for my first event”, I replied. “You can do it, give it a shot and ride with the ‘A’ group.” So I did.

Starting in 1st Gear

Starting week 1 with 15 mile ride, every week they would increase the distance and speed. The training was grueling, but I pushed on. Every week I got additional tips, from breathing more effectively, relaxing my body to form, function and so forth. Ever piece of advice improved my performance. I made new friends, Colin and other leaders provided the motivation and encouragement to keep pushing.

Feeling Down on the Uphill

Into week 6 of the rides the hill climbing started. I felt more and more tired. I was trailing behind with the team as we climbed hills. I felt I had made a big mistake and this was not working for me. Why wasn’t I in the front, or even the middle for that matter? Why can’t I climb the hills like the others? I’m trailing behind, I’m failing. After week 6's 70 mile ride, I sat on my sofa at home, head down. I looked to my wife and said “I don’t think this is working, I took on more than I can handle, I’m losing.” I unloaded my frustrations.

The Shift

She very eloquently reminded me that I had promised myself that this year I would commit to being the best follower I could be. It was a beautiful reminder of how I fall into my old habits so quickly. I had chosen this year to follow the greats, the ones that think better, see better and perform better than I do. I had so quickly fallen into the mentality of expecting myself to always be the best, to always lead. I made it about me and my expectations. But I forgot that for me to be a good leader, I would have to first commit to being a good follower. I had to embrace the challenges as an opportunity to learn from those who excel far more. I was reminded of the commitment I made that would promise a better me for many years to come.

Followship creates Leadership

It is now more clear to me that that effective leadership works hand-in-hand with effective “followship”. Keep those who perform better close to you. Choose the challenging goals, find the right people who can help you along the way, and make a commitment to be the best follower. In the right circumstances, being a great follower can transform you to a great leader.

Learn to be a great follower and you will awaken the great leader within you

Thanks for reading. If you like what you read and got value, Like Us and Stay Motivated at: https://www.facebook.com/trivedicoaching

I’m a passionate coach who loves helping people and organizations achieve powerful and lasting change.

--

--