My Baby is a God

It’s Complicated: Lit Up & The Writing Cooperative Contest

Edward Punales
Lit Up
2 min readMar 8, 2019

--

source

Sally Silverberg heard her child speak while it was still in her womb.

“Mommy?”

“Yes sweetie?”

“I thought you should know that I’m a higher-being. A mutation; the next step in human evolution, and I need your help. We need to recruit followers, to join my holy crusade, and conquer this planet.”

“Are you the second coming?”

“No Mommy, nothing like that. I’m simply more powerful than every other human who has ever existed. My mental faculties on par with the brightest minds of Earth, and growing by the day. My powers beyond anything this world has ever seen. I can reach into your mind, read your thoughts, and in time, influence your actions, and those of my fellow man.

“My only limits are this feeble, unfinished body, but that’s about it. I am not God, but I’m as close as you’re going to get.”

Sally patted her swollen belly. “My my, you were blessed with some good genes little one,”

“You and father have done well.”

Sally nodded and sighed.

“I’m sorry Mommy. This must all be very scary for you.”

“No, no sweetie. It’s just surprising. But then again, no one is ever truly prepared for parenthood. Please know that I will always love you, care for you, and support you, no matter what you do.”

“I love you Mommy.”

“I love you too baby.”

--

--

Edward Punales
Lit Up

I am a writer and filmmaker. I love storytelling in all its forms. Contact Info and Other Links: https://medium.com/@edwardpgames/my-bibliography-6ad2c863c6be