Song of the Millennial

Edward Punales
Lit Up
Published in
1 min readSep 15, 2018

I grew up,
With 9/11 as a bedtime story.

I grew up,
Wondering which of my classmates,
Would try to kill me.

I grew up,
Under surveillance,
My every move traced,
Because the world doesn’t trust me.

I grew up scared,
Paranoid,
Anxious,
Waiting for the axe to drop,
Waiting for the day I would starve,
Waiting for the boogeyman,
I was promised.

I see the worst in people,
So they won’t get close to me.

I have no faith in God,
Because I know he hates me.

I will die alone,
But so will most of us,
So I guess it’s not that lonely.

I may not live to old age,
But maybe that’s for the best.

I don’t want to live like this.

--

--

Edward Punales
Lit Up
Writer for

I am a writer and filmmaker. I love storytelling in all its forms. Contact Info and Other Links: https://medium.com/@edwardpgames/my-bibliography-6ad2c863c6be