Ennui

A Poetic Definition (3)

Yellow Brick Road
Literally Literary
1 min readApr 26, 2017

--

Image Curtsy: Pixabay

Ennui: I searched in the spaceless,
in the humdrum of veritable buzzing,
the repetition of pages,
in the empty valleys flooded by sound,
and amongst the echoes of life on line,
for Inspiration —

I fingered the word,
underlined it,
a wanting stroke to make it come,
and then searched for more
but

in the lull, to a shore hit by waves,
sunken below cliffs with a view,
a tempest is invisible;

I fingered the word,
a wanting stroke wanting forever
but

how could I feel the sting of a tail
of a thought, when stung
by a thousand a thousand times?

Poetic Definitions:
1) Hallucinations
2) Identity
3) Ennui

Please press the little ❤ and spread the love so more people can read this poetry :)

--

--

Yellow Brick Road
Literally Literary

Personal writings on gender and mental health. Life is a dinner table conversation and I’m noting down whatever I can on disposable napkins.