On Design Programs: Sketch vs Adobe XD vs Figma

Christopher Murphy
Little Taller
Published in
5 min readJan 3, 2020
Julius Schnorr von Carolsfeld [Public domain]

Here at Little Taller, we use Figma for our primary design purposes. As the web application wars between Sketch, Adobe XD and Figma rage, here is an educator and practitioner review of my favorite features. However, I am sure once this article is published there will be new features that negate my perspective!

First, let me start by clarifying that XD, Sketch and Figma are all great programs with their own set of pros and cons, and though I obviously have a favorite based on the work I focus on, it's different for each individual. Determining the goal or the problems you are trying to solve within the program will determine which one you gravitate towards. In the last couple of seasons, I’ve focused heavily on Figma, Sketch, and XD. All for different reasons, but I’ve spent more than enough time in the three listed to have strong feelings about each one.

https://blog.sketchapp.com/dark-mode-data-a-brand-new-look-and-more-in-sketch-52-e462c8a64d00

Let’s start with Sketch. It can be seen as the “ideal program” for design, however I find it is difficult to use when trying to collaborate with other creatives or clients. Even though it’s trying to catch up in creating a space for coworking, it has some pretty cool features. For instance, it allows me to integrate with Principle and Flinto, which are programs that help you create animated interfaces and prototypes. These integrations are important because Sketch doesn’t independently allow for prototyping. It’s a fast program, which is a plus, and there’s minimal waiting times for loading because anything that isn’t essential has been removed. This whole idea is great because it reduces lag and noise, but unfortunately at the same time removes some features that could carry value. For independent work, which admittedly requires time and is currently a rare commodity in the life of a husband, father, professor and co-founder, Sketch is a great program. Otherwise, I personally feel I’m missing too many useful tools within Sketch for it to be helpful in the long run.

https://medium.com/@LearnXD/5-reasons-ux-designers-will-love-adobe-xd-6bd82308f5e9
https://medium.com/@LearnXD/5-reasons-ux-designers-will-love-adobe-xd-6bd82308f5e9

Let’s talk about XD. I use XD in the classroom every semester. I have clients that only use XD. It’s a great program for a lot of reasons but it’s not that special if I’m being honest, and I am. It’s a great program that’s already included in your Creative Cloud and has a slight learning curve making it a great program for students. It allows you to create repeated symbols and objects which forces consistency upon the “class slacker” and speeds up the process for “prized designers”. However, its biggest strength is in its interactive prototyping. XD allows you to prototype and animate an interface out exactly as the user would experience it. Altogether it’s a great pick for the office or the classroom simply because it is relevant and useful in everyday design life. However, it’s not my first pick anymore.

https://www.toptal.com/designers/ui/figma-design-tool
https://www.toptal.com/designers/ui/figma-design-tool
https://www.figma.com/best-practices/tips-on-developer-handoff/an-overview-of-figma-for-developers/
https://www.figma.com/best-practices/tips-on-developer-handoff/an-overview-of-figma-for-developers/

And that brings us to Figma. This program offers so much with minimal elements that it has become a force to be reckoned with in my world. Figma does offer several plugins but its best feature is the ability to collaborate with everyone and anyone. It works like Google Docs in real-time. XD is trying to match this standard but doesn’t come close, while Sketch just started to incorporate this into their software. Figma also offers a code view, which feels more intuitive for developers. Every style and button can be inspected for CSS and allows the developer to copy the code, making life easier for everyone from start to finish. Text styles and components work really well and are simple to use, and Figma Integrates well with third-party apps like Principle, Flinto and Zeplin. I think the biggest and most recent win for Figma is the 40 million dollars they raised last year (check it out here https://www.figma.com/blog/figma-series-c/); they’re not going anywhere. This lets me rest easy, because I know that I’m using a product that will serve myself, my team, and my clients for the time to come.

Final thoughts

The primary reason we use Figma at Little Taller is because all of our files are stored on Figma’s servers and it’s 100% cloud-based. We are a remote company and it serves us well. As Creative Director, I can get into anyone of my designers’ files anytime I need to, and that is a big win in my world. XD files in a remote environment are absolutely infuriating to me, because my designers either have to send the file manually or send me a link for access. Even then, I may not be able to see the latest changes and am forced to refresh the screen to see the most up to date version. This change because as I am writing this Adobe XD co-editing feature is now in beta for their https://youtu.be/XDFE5DH2Z5E). With Figma, the changes are instant. Sketch is a good program, just not applicable to any aspect of my work. I prefer Figma because, to put it simply, it makes my life easier. And isn’t that the goal?

--

--

Christopher Murphy
Little Taller

Owner of ONE-BIT Design Studio, Professor, designer and lover of creativity.