Have You Considered The Most Important Books of Your Life?

I Bet They’re Not The First Ones That Come to Mind

Dakota Duncan
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

Image by congerdesign from Pixabay

What if the most important books of your life were not actually great works of literature, popular fiction, history, or science? What if the valuable life lessons touted by the critics as “must-read” weren’t the lessons you needed at the time?

I just finished reading an insightful Medium story by Jessica Lynn about Seven Books that Will Change Your Life. They are primarily self-help books, some I have read and was not surprised to see, such as The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom by Don Miguel Ruiz and Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill, and some I had never heard of. The list was thoughtfully curated and includes summaries of each. I encourage you to check it out as these books all look very worthwhile.

However, I wonder if these are truly the books that change people’s lives.

However, I wonder if these are truly the books that change people’s lives. I have this possibly crazy idea that the books that make the biggest difference in people’s lives are less about what has been popular and written about endlessly than what books came along at the right time.

--

--

Dakota Duncan
Live Your Life On Purpose

I’m an animal lover, author, and artist. I love learning about small but amazing creatures. See Captivating Creatures https://captivatingcreatures.substack.com.