How To Create A Mindset For Success

Steve Spring
Live Your Life On Purpose
3 min readJan 24, 2018

I had just returned to the United States after a 10-day mission trip to Peru. Immediately after I returned from the trip, I developed an an eye opening health crisis that started my journey to improve my health and fitness.

Getting healthy was and is a big goal. It involved exchanging several unhealthy habits for healthy ones. These unhealthy habits had been with me for decades and were going to be hard to break.

I am talking about choosing pizza over a more healthy food choice.

Choosing to sleep in instead of going to the gym.

I knew that it was not going to be easy to replace my unhealthy habits with healthy ones.

If I was going too change my health for the long term, I was going to have too change my mindset. I needed to know “why” I was making these changes.

Maybe you are in the same situation.

Maybe you need to replace some unhealthy habits with healthy ones.

What is your motivation to change?

What is your “Why?”

For me, my “Why” came after several visits to the emergency room. I had been very sick after a trip to South America. I was overweight, had high cholesterol, high blood sugar, and high body fat.

My doctor sat me down and told me that if I wanted to live a long and healthy life, I had to improve my health. You can read more of the story here.

That was all the “Why” that I needed to give me the motivation to change my lifestyle.

I wanted to see my daughter grow up and graduate from medical school.

I want to spend time traveling with my wife.

I wanted to live a long and healthy life.

What is your “Why?”

“When your “WHY” is big enough you will find your how”

Laith Wallace

What motivates you to want to change your life?

Do you want to see your kids and grandkids grow up?

Do you want to enjoy retirement with your spouse?

Seriously, what is your “Why?”

Take a minute too think about it and write it down.

You will be amazed at how much your life will improve once you know your “Why.”

Over to you…

Over the next several posts I will be sharing what I have learned on my journey to improve my health and fitness. I hope that sharing what I learned along the way can help you with your own journey to improved health.

Now, I’d like to hear from you. What is your “why?” How will it prevent you getting stuck? What else do you want to know?

Drop me a note in the comments!​

Call To Action

Do you want to create a mindset for success, reach your goals, and be more successful? Do you want to live the life that you were created to live? Get a copy of my FREE goals checklist and start achieving your goals today.

Click here to get the checklist now!

--

--

Steve Spring
Live Your Life On Purpose

Husband, Father, Christian, coffee lover. Writer for Live Your Life On Purpose, The Startup, Better Humans, BeYourself and The Ascent.