Washing clothes after hours

Iwana Raydan
Living with 4kWh a day
3 min readSep 27, 2022

When analyzing my energy consumption, I discovered that my biggest enemy, the most energy-hungry house appliance, the one that consumes the most electricity and therefore influences my energy bill the most, is the washing machine.

“This town ain’t big enough for the both of us and I’m going to give you 24 hours to get out.”

First, I decided to try wearing my clothes more times than I usually do before putting them in the wash. With the end of summer this task became easier, as we sweat less and wear more layers in the fall. Additionally, I washed some underwear in the shower, which I soon realized was a Latin American women’s practice, after reading my classmate Domenica’s story in her personal diary.

So I was able to reduce the amount of clothes each wash. In fact, I haven’t washed any clothes since this challenge began. But I forgot to plan on washing bedding and towels, things you can’t wash in the shower and that I religiously change every week…

After researching the topic and also talking to some friends who have lived in Italy longer than I have, I had a very positive surprise! I found that there are time bands that determine the kW/h price for energy spending.

With the aim of promoting a more conscious behavior on the part of citizens, the Italian Authority on Energy (ARERA) has set time slots for consumption. A different price level is associated for each time band.

Energy prices are lower during the times indicated by colors yellow and green (F2 and F3). Source: ARERA, 2022.

Why? Because producing energy during the weekdays, when work and daytime activities maximize energy consumption, has a higher cost than producing it in the evening or at night. The reason is simple: during the day, industries and economic activities are more active and consequently consumption is at its peak. On the contrary, during the evening and night hours, consumption is lower because offices, shops and many industries are closed.

This is because more expensive energy plants (and more plants) must be put into operation, which increases the selling price of energy on the electricity market. The price is in fact also regulated by the laws of supply and demand: a price increase corresponds to a surplus of demand. On the other hand, when there is an excess of supply on the market, the price decreases.

I know that using the washing machine at unconventional times uses the same amount of energy as using it during peak hours. But conscious consumption also involves saving financial resources, right? ;)

I found this information very useful and wanted to share it with you! From now on I’m only washing my clothes on Sundays or after 23h. Since I am a night owl this won’t be a problem at all. Well, at least not for me. I apologize to my neighbors in advance!

--

--