Your Mom calls it tradition but knows its science!

She knew the logic behind it!

Comfort-in-mismatch
Logically Sound!
4 min readMar 30, 2020

--

There are some age-old customs and traditions, which have been passed on from generations! These have been religiously followed too. However, many have done so without knowing the rationality behind it.

Logically sounds helps you dive deeper and gain another perspective.

The previous one we shared something about nature. Here, I pick up something small that exists in all Indian homes.

I have always been made to believe, realise and follow that there is NO substitute for hard work.

If you are sincere to your work and responsibilities, all falls into place.

But wait!

Then there is something called “LUCK.”

If you are lucky your hard work will pay off! — I have heard that line more often than anything. If luck is by my side, my hard work will materialise.

There goes the ‘hard work is everything’ out the window.

Well, let’s not get off track! I don’t want to change your beliefs about hard work is above luck or luck is above hard work. (spoiler: They are inseparable best buddies)

What I want to focus is on that one little trick our mom uses, and says, ‘It is for good luck.’

Feeding you curd and sugar before you leave home for that first day at job or an exam or a even a flight.

Been there?

My mom has always done it.

According to me, that was it. My good luck and my substitute for hard work, till of course, I realised I gotta study to pass my exams. Well, let’s call that situation an experiment.

Curious me, as you know, I went to my mom, who is a science teacher by the way (no wonder all the science in my blogs), and asked her, ‘Kyun?’ (Why?)

Why do you keep feeding me curd and sugar before my flights or exams? What’s the logic?

Being my perfect source of information that she is, she explained to me in simple words.

The combination of curd and sugar is a great one for the supply of glucose to our brain. This increases the energy levels which is very crucial.

Ok! I know what you are thinking. Just curd and sugar?

NO! Anything sweet! “meetha muh” as we call it!

Whether you are heading for an exam or a flight or a job interview, you need your energy levels at the best. There is no chance you can let last night’s stress or anxiety creep up on you at.

Imagine a sleepy and exhausted you at the boarding gate, suddenly panicking. Where did you keep the boarding pass? Did you leave in the waiting lounge by mistake? Oh god!

Oh wait, there it is.

The sweet combo of curd sugar provides a quick flow of energy to the system. It keeps you awake and alert for a couple of hours. Now that is enough, coz once boarded, you will doze off instantly (if you are anything like me).

That is not all.

There is one more crucial reason why this has been an age-old tradition in many religions.

It is because curd and sugar or anything meetha (sweet) has been called ‘Buddhi Vardhak’ in Ayurveda.

We have known it always, but some things come to light a little late. All that is needed is a curious mind.

Buddhi Vardhak means it helps memory retentions, brainpower and concentration. Now, I know why my teachers told me to have chocolates while studying. I always had a great memory, ad not just in academics, even in my dance routines.

No wonder all mothers have this shield up right before their kids head out for an exam.

Amazingly, infants get this dose of motherly love too. It helps work on the memory and energy of the kids, from a young age.

Finally, you know WHY! and if your mom has never done that, tell her to start right away.

Yes! You can have it yourself too! It’s just that having mom’s do it adds a touch of something special that is beyond the explanation of science too.

Next time you head out for something important, you know what you have to do for a little Good Luck.

--

--

Comfort-in-mismatch
Logically Sound!

A simple gal from a not so simple city, enjoying every bit of this mis-match. Here to bring my world of words to you!