Loose Words Letter #63

Every Leaf is a Flower

Jonathan Greene
Loose Words
3 min readOct 21, 2021

--

Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

Welcome to the weekly newsletter from Loose Words. These letters go out every Thursday and highlight many of our published poems from the past week. Loose Words is a poetry publication brought to you by Assemblage to capture disconnected thoughts and let them find their form.

“Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.” — Albert Camus

Each week, we will post a few lines from each featured poem (all friend links so anyone can read them) to give you a preview of the whole. We encourage you to read the full version by clicking in and taking that minute. A one-minute read could change your day.

Featured Poet

Each week we feature one of our contributing poets at Loose Words on our homepage and in this letter. This week it is Deborah McNamara. Deborah is a sustainability & climate activist, yoga teacher, and author.

Featured Poet: Deborah McNamara

Collection

Collections are groupings of poems with an overall theme. You can find Collections on the homepage underneath the Featured Poems, Notes From the Editor, and Featured Poet sections.

Autumn features 8 poems from 8 different poets from our archives. This section is a great way to get acquainted with multiple works around one theme, as well as to find poets you haven’t read before or ones you shouldn’t miss.

Autumn features loose words from Caroline Mellor, Aspen Blue, Tre L. Loadholt, Gregory D. Welch, Lark Morrigan, Salam Khan, Eashan Reddy Kotha, and Jessica Lee McMillan.

Collection: Autumn

Selected Loose Words From Last Week

Pixelated by Connie Song

It’s hard for me to walk into the smoldering fire,
when I already know what the burn feels like.
But, sometimes, I fall between the cracks
and the void covers me in ashes.
Now, I sense the rush
of days catapulting into night
and I’ve become accustomed to the darkness.”

The Clock Tower of Youth Chimes by Bradley J Nordell

“walking in the coming of fall
those burned orange leaves
and hospice yellow trees
coughing and smiling,
feeling they will come again
as the clock tower
chimes midday,
over a sleepy town
of nearby December.”

Some Highlights from the Past

Bales of Hay by Giulia de Gregorio Listo

“But I do not reside in what fell to the ground. Not anymore.
I’m in the scarred skin, my thoughts still hanging from the scalp
And the right ones sliding to my throat; devouring my mind
One neuron at the time,
Until I master how to regenerate myself.”

Starlight by Elizabeth Williamson

“the weekend before I met you
and I wondered if maybe
you would light up my darkness
and illuminate my world
if you would let me
fill your world
with stars of my own”

Gift by Lubna Yusuf

“I look outside my thoughts
and see them from a different time
who I was with you
and without
in a slow flip
I return to me”

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

“I saw old Autumn in the misty morn stand shadowless like silence, listening to silence.” — Thomas Hood

How do you see Autumn?

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Loose Words

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com