I’m so hungry I could eat a horse!

Audrey Atkinson
Low Glycemic Living Magazine
6 min readMay 7, 2022

No one ever explained what the feeling of hunger feels like. We’ve all just assumed that the empty burning sensation in what we assume is our stomach is the signal that our body gives us to tell us we are hungry.

What if I told you that feeling is not hunger and that it’s not in your stomach?

Beautiful brown stallions are on their hindlegs about to crash into one another.
Beautiful brown stallions are on their hindlegs about to crash into one another.

The hunger feeling is terribly misleading because eating definitely stops its attack, giving us the impression that we were actually hungry, but what is sending that feeling and what is it trying to tell us?

Over the pandemic, I have spent time trying to solve my food issues. They are all over the place, making little sense to the medical community. As a result to this, I’ve done my own research, my own education on the body and food, and my own experiments.

Sure, experiments are dangerous, but so are canned foods. All food is hit or miss with me, so I’d rather consciously make choices rather than be a victim to that which I don’t know.

I’ve tried all kinds of different things but really loved my Tim Hortons’ coffee Triple Triple, 3 creams and 3 sugars. Quitting their coffees was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. I still can’t say I’ve succeeded because I had one a couple weeks ago. My problem was never their coffee, though, and I know that now.

There are two ingredients in Timmies’ coffees that cause its addiction in my body, and caffeine isn’t one of them. Not for me, anyway, I have a high caffeine metabolism according to a DNA test, which completely explained why I could only get woken up by a Timmies coffee and not by a coffee made at home.

Coffee cream and sugar are very common ingredients to add in coffee, especially at a coffee shop like Tim Hortons. We don’t really think anything about these ingredients on a day-to-day basis and would never think that these two things together can work some synergistic magic to make us wired.

How does it work?

I do want you to remember that I am in no way connected to the healthcare industry and only know what I’ve learned with my entire being.

In most creams, Tim Hortons included, there’s an ingredient that is added to make it thick. This will sound gross, and it’s also in your ice cream, it’s seaweed.

Carrageenan is an extract from red seaweed and is used as an emulsifier. That means that it can mix things together that aren’t usually mixed together. Things like oil and water, or blood and lymph fluid. And this is the major player on the wired feeling that works with sugar and caffeine, for those without my metabolism.

Have you ever noticed how long it takes for you to need to go pee on days you ingest carrageenan compared to days you don’t? I have. I can go up to 9 hours without peeing if I drink a Tim Hortons coffee, and it’s usually the longest pee ever. But, at home, I will pee within 2 hours tops. A little gross, but think about the longest and shortest times you’ve gone to the bathroom and what you ingested those days to see if there’s a trend you never knew even existed.

My assumption is that the emulsifier doesn’t stop emulsifying just because we took it in our body. To me, it would seem preposterous to think otherwise. Therefore, it’s thickening up our liquids internally too on us. In the case of the bladder, the pee is thicker and pressure is needed to push out the pee, that is where the long time between pees comes from even though you drank a diuretic.

🍊 Healthy low GI nutrition & weight loss support for women 30+. More at wellandeasy.com/freebie

If we backtrack the urine from the bladder, it’s in the kidneys. Check out my article about the back pain I used to experience from when my issues were focused in that location. Before the kidneys is blood, and before that is interstitial lymph fluid — that’s the fluid that flows within and throughout the skin.

Our skin is a secondary bladder. When our kidneys and liver are not at their best, the skin steps in and does its part to help as much as it can. We’ve ingested a liquid coffee with cream and sugar and an emulsifier to keep it all together and we’ve added that into our skin.

The biggest issue with all of this is that our lymph fluid is also our immune system in liquid form. I’m sure it’s not in carrageenan’s best interest to just float around in there free as a bird. It would be attacked.

Are you curious how carrageenan tries to escape the lymph fluid and succeeds in making you wired?

I was also curious, and I found a sign that lets us know how big of an issue our bodies are really having. There are places in the body where the interstitial lymph fluid and our blood meets. They are supposed to be separated by a one-way door, lymph to blood, that allows only processed things to make its way into our blood, but what happens if we take in emulsifiers?

Do you remember the emulsifier’s superpower? It’s to mix the unmixable and to thicken it up. When that one-way door opens up, we give carrageenan the opportunity to thicken up the mixture, effectively keeping that door open and turning it into a two-way door.

Have you guessed what the sign I found is yet? I’ll give you a hint. They are small, there’s usually several in an area, and they can be purple or blue.

A closeup picture of a veiny leaf with the shadow of a spider on it.
A closeup picture of a veiny leaf with the shadow of a spider on it.

You guessed it! It’s spider veins. Spider veins are a sign to let you know how backed up you really are. As your issues expand, the spider veins will increase in number, thickness, and move further away from your organs.

Unfortunately you’ll have to take my word on this since health professionals assume that these little guys are harmless. Well, they are harmless, technically. It’s more like a boundary. That which is within its boundary is under attack by microbe overpopulation, and that on the outside of the boundary is able to function as it’s meant to.

The second problem ingredient is sugar. Sugar and carrageenan are a tag-team. The sugar causes the high while the carrageenan keeps mixing it in so you stay high.

You can go hours with not peeing while sugar is slowly being added to your blood, causing a really big crash at the end of it all and get that nasty “I want to eat a horse” feeling that could even possibly force you to kill for food if it all really came to that.

Let’s get back to that feeling of hunger and where it really comes from.

As I said earlier, it’s not the stomach. The stomach is not even in that location. That spot is where your pancreas is, and it’s busting its behind to try and solve the insulin/glucose issue that we caused ourselves the last time we had sugars and carbohydrates.

It’s not telling us to add more food, but that’s how most of us take that sensation. It’s telling us that if we keep on keeping on with what we are doing, we won’t be able to control our insulin and glucose levels anymore.

It’s a warning, not a sign.

Unfortunately quitting all carbs all at once is not something that our bodies can handle. It’s a slow and steady change of life that has to happen. As you remove sugar, you’ll find sweetness in the weirdest places. Good luck.

End note: I’ve never eaten a horse, nor do I want to. No horses are in jeopardy from me.

--

--

Audrey Atkinson
Low Glycemic Living Magazine

I’m an entrepreneur, author, transcriber, closed captioner by trade, and histamine and gluten intolerant by food. Buy me a coffee here: ko-fi.com/audreyatkinson