Why does my back hurt when I wake up?

Audrey Atkinson
Low Glycemic Living Magazine
6 min readApr 9, 2022

I had this back pain that was something fierce. It was in my lower back and felt as though the bones would scrape against each other. It started to become chronic in my mid-20s and took until my late 30s to figure out what was triggering it.

A rustic orange saucer and coffee mug. The mug is flipped over with coffee beans pouring out: Spilling the beans.
Spilling the beans.

This article will cover the back pain that occurs in the morning. You are stiff. You waddle from it. It fades within about an hour or two of waking, leaving the bone grinding feeling for the rest of the day.

I’m sure a really good doctor can look at that last paragraph and can tell you I probably was experiencing something with my kidneys. I didn’t see a good doctor, so instead I got “You are showing signs of degenerating disks but nothing that should cause pain.” and sent off on my merry way. That was 10 years ago. And, P.S., I had a DNA test which stated I’m likely to experience pain with DDD.

Two years ago, I did something ludicrous to try to tackle what was causing my issues. The really big thing that stood out on the back pain was that it wasn’t excruciating every day. There were some days where I felt amazing, so I should be able to feel amazing at any time.

In my hunt to figure out my triggers, I had to look at my food and drink intake, as well as my vitamins and mineral intake. After dealing with the new set of healthcare professionals, the ones that gave me drug-induced Parkinson's and friends, I started introducing different vitamins to my diet. Ones that aren’t on the complete blood count test, since clearly those look good.

The first vitamins I started taking were vitamins D and E. I started one at a time and checked out upper tolerable limits and went from there. I found both of these extremely helpful at high doses. Vitamin D is a permanent part of my current regimen; vitamin E is a standby (since I’m a smoker). These vitamins improved my wellbeing. My back pain was totally still around, as vitamins are not its cause.

I still wasn’t in the right place. I found, through trial and error, some vitamins and minerals that are doing something positive to my body, but I did not find the ones that tell me what would be causing the lower bone grinding feeling that apparently is an impossible feeling (told to me by healthcare).

I gained some confidence in figuring this all out since I did improve my sleep a little and did lower my overall chronic pain and felt better mentally, so I thought it was time to start playing with my food.

Ludicrous experiment number one. I stopped drinking coffee. Well, I ran out so… It was only for five days but I was virtually pain-free by the end of those five days.

I should mention that along with this back pain, I was also experiencing severe nausea. I did not know this was directly related back then, but now I do. I would constantly throw up food. I was a chronic marijuana user a year prior to this. I quit because “it’s bad for you.”

I was having symptoms of the alleged “cannabis hyperemesis syndrome” as a non-pot user. Since I never ever ever got sick while smoking marijuana, back then that was my first step. Clearly weed’s withdrawal allowed the proliferation of something else within my body. What could that be?

Since I’ve talked in previous articles about being histamine intolerant, it may not come as a surprise to some people why marijuana is something my body was actually using to process stuff that goes in. Marijuana is able to activate the capsaicin receptor, which in turn helps to manage histamines in the body.

So what is “cannabis hyperemesis syndrome”? This syndrome can kill you. People have died, children have died not knowing what is triggering the problem. As I alluded to, and as every person who’s experienced knows, it is not the weed. It is your kidneys failing to keep up with you.

What are the kidneys falling behind in processing? The body is full of bottlenecks. All the bottlenecks that occur cause stress on the human body usually somewhere near it.

Ludicrous experiment number two. I had coffee again and I’m addicted, so test number two was removing milk from my coffee. Lactose intolerance was where I took this experiment. The only ludicrous thing is that I know I can drink milk. This clearly was not going to be the issue.

There is an interesting thing here to note. If I drink coffee with cream, I am wired. “This is the best coffee EVER!” wired. However, when my coffee is made with milk, I’m not wired. It’s just a drink. This means I already knew, like I brought up in another article, that emulsifiers are what makes the coffee.

I was still having nausea and lower back pain, so coffee with sugar is a no-go. Well that sucks. I really love sugar. It’s so good. I do have at least three spoonfuls in my cup.

low GI for candida
Support Candida with healthy refined sugar-free options and low glycemic staple foods to add to your kitchen. More at wellandeasy.com/freebie

We are getting so close to what causes the lower back pain in the morning. Well, not the cause but the trigger.

Histamine intolerance is fascinating and I’m pretty sure that every single human does this to some point. According to the medical community, histamines are only in your body for a couple hours and food issues that span beyond must not be it because of the histamines “halflife.”

My confused brain looks at that and says, “But you can’t heat away histamines? You can’t cold them away? They keep multiplying, so how is the halflife in the body so short?”

My brilliance can only say that they must think, that because they don’t know where the histamines are, if they aren’t being folded into the blood right now, they must be gone.

The human body will use its fat cells when it requires vitamins and minerals to finish what it is doing. If you are storing fat, you are storing proteins and histamines that your body is unable to process at the moment.

When the fat starts building up, you know you have something akin to what doctors call leaky gut. The buildup in your body creates a line or a stem from the gut allowing opportunistic fungi to start growing in size.

This brings us to ludicrous experiment number three. You guessed it! I removed the sugar from my coffee and added back in the milk. This experiment I pretended that I have invasive candida.

I don’t know if the invasiveness I’m attacking is candida or not, but I do know that this experiment led me to the right answer. A treatment that works.

As I mentioned the histamine intolerance makes it easy for candida or other fungis to leave my gut. The microbe war that should be lower in numbers is very high in numbers and locations.

The symptoms of cannabis hyperemesis syndrome were gone completely once the invasive fungi pulled out of that area. I’m still forcing its retreat and have been doing so about a year.

The symptoms of anxiety, the physical ones, were gone after it pulled out of my throat and heart area.

My sore lungs caused by years of smoking, gone.

My brain fog, insomnia, and catatonic-type states, gone.

This invasive fungal infection that I’ve been shrinking/murdering has also put some stress on my kidneys, giving me the answer of what is happening. The war within us isn’t a bunch of microbes that don’t know they are in a world. They have consciousness just as we do and their communities have wills just as ours do.

This war has been within humanity for generations upon generations. It travels through each and every one of us and mutates your body to serve its needs. On our scale we call this terraforming, they call it epigenetics.

Do not take medical advice from me. I’m just a random human documenting her experience and her version of the human body. My main mode of attack is something called caprylic acid plus. It’s the best so far; other than, of course, removing its food/inhibitory source, the sugar.

--

--

Audrey Atkinson
Low Glycemic Living Magazine

I’m an entrepreneur, author, transcriber, closed captioner by trade, and histamine and gluten intolerant by food. Buy me a coffee here: ko-fi.com/audreyatkinson