Exploring the Dual iPad Setup

Why and how I use a dual iPad setup for productivity in the office and on the go.

Tobias Hedtke
Mac O’Clock

--

Image courtesy of the author.

What Apple devices can be considered someone‘s main computing device?

It‘s MacBooks, right? Yes, but not only MacBooks.

I alternate between my 14-inch M2 Pro MacBook Pro and my 12.9-inch M2 iPad Pro back and forth. Depending on the tasks I have to accomplish, I decide whether I take the iPad Pro or the MacBook Pro with me to the office.

Anyway, a steady companion of mine is my iPad mini 6. No matter what main device I take with me, the iPad mini is always part of my tech EDC.
On MacBook days, the iPad mini is the perfect accessory for the MacBook Pro. I recently published an article on how deeply the iPad can be integrated into the MacBook.

But what about the iPad Pro? How can the iPad mini be supportive of another iPad used as the main working device?
Well, on iPad-only days, I regularly use both together — my 12.9-inch M2 iPad Pro and my iPad mini 6.

In this article, I’d like to guide you along on why and how I use a dual iPad setup for productivity.
Without further ado, let’s start with the iPad mini as a…

1. Secondary screen

--

--

Tobias Hedtke
Mac O’Clock

Scientist, entrepreneur, and tech enthusiast from Germany, writing about Apple tech, productivity, and start-up entrepreneurship