APPLE SILICON

Get Ready For Apple’s 3nm M2 Pro MacBook Pro

It will be more than twice as fast as the first Apple silicon Macs

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readJul 12, 2022

--

Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch
Image courtesy of author

My upgrade to the M1 MacBook Air has been fantastic. It’s five to ten times faster running Xcode than the 2016 13-inch MacBook Pro it replaced. And even though it’s smaller and lighter, it provides over three times the battery life, so I no longer need to carry the power adapter when I work away from home for the day. It’s easily the best laptop I’ve ever owned¹.

My only hesitation when upgrading was whether I should wait for the MacBook Air redesign, but after the M2 Air’s unveiling at WWDC, I was more than happy that I didn’t wait nine additional months to upgrade. With only an eighteen percent performance improvement over the M1, a marginally better display, identical battery life, and a meager tenth of a pound weight reduction, none of the M2 Air’s improved features are compelling enough to warrant an upgrade from the M1 MacBook Air.

Apple slide comparing M1 vs M2 CPU performance
source: Apple

Second Thoughts

So I’m glad I didn’t wait for the M2 MacBook Air. And I’m still glad I chose the M1 MacBook Air over the…

--

--