Photo by visuals on Unsplash

How to Download Kindle E-books on an iPhone

And why you can’t buy Kindle e-books from the iOS app

Akshay Gajria
Published in
4 min readAug 26, 2021

--

My friend recently published her poetry collection on Kindle. It’s a gorgeous book and you should definitely check it out. But shameless plug aside, she like me owns an iPad and an iPhone and does not own a Kindle. After publishing her book, she did the most natural thing: She downloaded the Kindle app on her phone, hoping to get it there. While she could see the listing, there was no option to purchase it. I imagine she shrugged her shoulders, switched to the Amazon app. Maybe you need to buy it from Amazon directly?

She found her listing on the Amazon app but again the same problem. Where was the buy button? You could get a sample of the book. But what about purchase? And if she couldn’t buy it, would others face the same problem?

So she did what she always does when faced with a tech-related problem. She pinged me.

This was a problem I’d faced too when I published my e-book on Kindle. (Shameless plug strikes again: check it out.) There is no way to buy an e-book on the Amazon app on your iPhone. But when I opened the link on Safari on my iPad, the buy button was present. I tried opening the link on my iPhone’s Safari, and after being rudely sent to the app, the Safari page opened and the buy button sat…

--

--