Picture clicked by author. Read further to know full story.

I was wrong about iPhone 13

Especially when you point that camera toward the heavens

Akshay Gajria
Published in
3 min readDec 21, 2021

--

When the iPhone 13 was announced, I’d written about how I wouldn’t be upgrading from my iPhone 12. I was quite satisfied with it. I am quite satisfied with it. One of the points I’d raised was how the camera was an incremental upgrade. Nothing major.

Boy, I was wrong.

At a recent Writers Retreat, another participant had iPhone 13. In my brief testing with the phone, most of the points on why I did not want to upgrade held firm. Even the camera, especially in daylight. Maybe the HDR was slightly better. Incremental. But once the sun set, everything changed.

Because of the lockdowns, I haven’t had a chance to travel and so my experiments with my iPhone’s night mode were minimum. But at the Retreat huddled up around a campfire, with all the lights gone due to a power cut, the sky was alive. I knew my time had finally come.

Initial attempts with iPhone 12

The Milkyway was a streak of diamonds across the sky. I had carried my tripod for just this moment.

While the nightmode on average takes a 3 second exposure, hand held, setting it up on the

--

--