Source: Apple

I’m Sticking to My iPhone 12

And giving the iPhone 13 a hard pass

Akshay Gajria
Mac O’Clock
Published in
9 min readSep 15, 2021

--

In December of 2020, I bought the iPhone 12. I wrote about it here. And here. Since then, I’ve fallen in love with it. I do most of my work on an iPad Pro, and one of the best parts about using an iPad as the main computer is that I get a scaled down version (or sometimes the full experience) on my iPhone as the OS is mostly the same. In a place where I have no iPad (read: a boring party I did not plan to attend) I can whip out my phone and be productive.

With the iPhone 13, Apple upgraded some specific things which still feels like a slight bump up to the iPhone 12 lineup. Here I’ll be covering the specific things I look at the most when buying an iPhone and comparing them to my iPhone 12:

1. Camera
2. Speakers
3. Microphone
4. Battery Life
5. Screen
6. Build quality

Let’s break this down:

1. Camera

Images:
The iPhone 12 remains my main camera of choice. I’m no pro photographer, but I do dabble and experiment. It has been doing a great job until now and nothing in the new iPhone 13 series gives me a reason to update. Yes, I am am curious about the new Photography styles, and especially that Macro mode, but other than that, I don’t see a reason to upgrade. The image samples, even with the HDR 4 and the…

--

--