iPad Pro: The Ultimate Niche Machine

Joshua VanDyke
Mac O’Clock
Published in
3 min readMar 2, 2020

--

Discussions about the iPad Pro’s viability as a laptop replacement are well documented. While more and more people seem happy with the iPad Pro as a mobile computer, I’ve landed in the other camp. The iPad Pro, though increasingly capable, forces too many compromises to serve as a mobile work machine for me. Too many productivity tasks are too complicated. So I sold my iPad Pro last week.

I’m confident that I’ve made the right decision. My MacBook Pro 16 and iPhone 11 Pro Max combination lacks nothing that I absolutely need. But I’ll admit, the iPad Pro fills a few niche use-cases better than any other device on the market.

  1. Drawing.
    For anyone who considers themself an artist, the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil could be a habit altering combination. Apple has crafted a truly enjoyable experience drawing with the Apple Pencil, it’s fluid, it’s precise, it’s responsive, the latency is incredibly low (9ms, for anyone counting), it just feels right. There are also a plethora of wonderful drawing apps available which only make the offering more compelling.
  2. Note-taking.
    For anyone who writes notes, the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil is also extremely valuable. The fluidity, responsiveness, and precision make handwriting an absolute joy on an iPad Pro. I’ve noted this before, but keeping a physical notebook feels cumbersome in 2020 and…

--

--