Is the MacBook Pro 16-inch too big?

Joshua VanDyke
Mac O’Clock
Published in
4 min readJan 29, 2020

--

Confession time, I got itchy this fall and tried out the iPad Pro + iMac combo (not the first time, unfortunately probably not the last). I put the iMac on my desk at work and toted the iPad Pro around for remote work and home use. It definitely can work, though I would consider the iMac indispensable in this scenario, at least for me. I’m still uncomfortable using only an iPad Pro. Though it’s impressively capable, there are still too many things that are so much easier to do on macOS (email templates, booking a trip, posting to a blog, responding to emails, Zoom meetings, PowerPoint, file management, the list goes on). I realized that I want access to macOS all the time. Plus I just love MacBooks, which definitely plays a part in all of this.

So Apple released the MacBook Pro 16-inch in October 2019. I mostly ignored it (because of my iPad Pro experiment), but it turns out it’s a pretty big shift in Apple’s approach to the MacBook. I even wrote about how much more value it offers for the same price as the old 15-inch models. And Best Buy was having a sale, and they were running an 11% back offer this month, and you can guess what I did.

So I’m writing this from my New MacBook Pro 16-inch. It’s silver (the better color option), it’s the most basic model (i7, 512gb SSD, 16gb ram), and it’s huge. I like (wouldn’t say love) the new keyboard, I sort of missed…

--

--