APPLE SILICON

M2 Pro Mac Mini: Worth The Wait

One of Apple’s most powerful Macs is also its biggest value

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
8 min readJan 26, 2023

--

Mac mini with Studio Display
M2 Pro Mac mini handling a complex PaintCode project | Image courtesy of author

I’ve been looking forward to Apple’s launch of the M2 Pro Mac mini since October when I spent a significant amount of time waiting for Xcode builds to complete as I updated my apps for the latest Apple devices (you can read about it here). Once I saw the announcement video posted to Apple’s website on the morning of January 17, I immediately ordered a Mac mini with a 12-core M2 Pro CPU, 32GB RAM, and 1TB SSD.

Perhaps I was a little slow in placing the order because I was given a January 26 delivery date, two days after the mini’s January 24 availability date. An additional wait that seemingly increased to three days when an email from Apple let me know my shipment was on its way with delivery set for January 27. Not only did Apple beat that delayed date, but my Mac mini arrived two days earlier on January 25. Now that I have an M2 Pro Mac mini in hand, the first thing I did was run an Xcode build performance test for several of my apps:

--

--