APPLE SILICON

Why I’m Upgrading from the Apple M1 to the M2 Pro

When it comes to CPU performance, too much is never enough

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readOct 24, 2022

--

Developing Brain Arcade in Xcode
Developing Brain Arcade in Xcode

I upgraded from the 2016 13-inch MacBook Pro to the M1 MacBook Air just over a year ago, pairing it with the Studio Display when that became available seven months ago. I’ve been extremely happy with this combo, the best laptop I’ve ever owned (by far) and the best display I’ve ever owned (by far). In day-to-day use, it’s a near-perfect setup. The only reason I’m contemplating an upgrade is the time I spend developing apps in Xcode.

When I upgraded to the M1 MacBook Air last year I ran some performance tests that showed a five to ten times improvement over the 2016 13-inch MacBook Pro. But even with that incredible advance in performance, I can still spend a significant amount of time waiting for Xcode builds to complete. Here are the build and archive times for my latest Xcode session:

Incremental builds are insanely fast, averaging less than four seconds. But full builds can take over four minutes and…

--

--