APPLE SILICON

The Power of the M2 Pro Mac Mini Unleashed

Taking app development to the next level with Apple’s latest M-series silicon

Dan Hansen
Mac O’Clock
Published in
5 min readFeb 18, 2023

--

When my M2 Pro Mac mini arrived on January 25 the first thing I did was run some benchmark tests against the computer it was replacing, an M1 MacBook Air. Geekbench tests run on the two Macs scored the Mac mini having almost twice the multi-core processing power of the MacBook Air (15,158 vs 7,735). Those results are in line with the Mac Benchmarks scores on the Geekbench website.

With Xcode performance being the primary reason for my upgrading to the M2 Pro Mac mini, I compared build times for several Xcode projects across both Macs. The Mac mini did even better in this test, building the projects 2.09 times faster than the MacBook Air.

After the incredible performance gains I realized two years ago, when upgrading from a 2016 13-inch MacBook Pro to the M1 MacBook Air, I thought I would never again see such a massive increase in processing power. But now, in terms of raw multi-core processing power, the M2 Pro has provided an even more enormous increase than the M1 did. Crazy.

I’ve been a satisfied Mac owner since I started writing iPhone apps in 2008 but I’ve never owned a powerhouse Mac before. Over the last fifteen…

--

--