What’s more on my mac?

Studiolektrik
Mac O’Clock
Published in
3 min readNov 24, 2020

This is a follow up of my first story, which you can find here.

Let’s make this quick and easy; these are some other apps I used daily on my Mac. And I definitely didn’t get paid by any of them, I wish.

1 | Task tab

Quickly add a simple to do in your menu bar. I tend to write them down in my trusty Moleskines books, but TaskTab does the job for me digitally.

Task tab

2 | Apple logo screensaver

This absolute gem of a screensaver was created by Pedro Carrasco & others, and it’s awesome. I guess it’s inspired / a smart copy of the placeholder animation from Apple’s keynote in 2017–2018.

If you want to make your screensaver look like you’re a pro, this ‘Brooklyn’ one is the one to install.

This works with dark & light theme!

3 | Copy Clip

If you are like me, your muscle memory is locked into CMD+C and CMD+V. Copy Clip very simply makes this copy and paste into a easier workflow, by adding the most recent copies in a list in the menu bar.

Select them, and off you go.

Suck it, Clippy.

4 | Gifski

Drag and drop a short video to create a gif; that’s what Gifski does. And it does it well. A simple tool which I used daily.

You know, because gifs are the bomb.

This is not a gif.

5 | SpotMenu

Having music in your ears is essential. But having Spotify cluttering up your workspace, isn’t. SpotMenu solves that problem. By having the album art in the menu bar, it’s easy accessible and unobtrusive.

I use this frequently, since I also watch videos online, and the keyboard’s media controls get tangled up by doing two things at once.

Great song, and an even better Mac app.

6 | Google Chrome & Fonts Ninja

Switching between Safari and Chrome (for work mainly), I use the Fonts Ninja extension to easily scan pages and recognise fonts. The free version is beautifully designed, and easy to use.

Scanning for fonts is easy.

7 | Google Chrome & Google Keep

Saving notes that are accessible on multiple devices, especially bookmarking websites, and saving them in the correct category is a piece of cake with Google Keep.

Adding a label to a note, and it’s automatically save in the correct pile.

Adding a label, save to the pile.

8 | Google Chrome & GoFullPager

When you come across a great website or design, I like to learn from it. That’s why saving it in one piece, can be a valuable asset. The GoFullPager extension does exactly that.

This is also very easy to handoff a design to a client: create your page and export the entire thing with a click of a button.

The result of the GoFullPager extension can be downloaded as PNG.

--

--