Revelation Five

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas
3 min readMar 19, 2017

Walk in the light.

The way I see it, we have two choices. We can either lurk in the shadows or walk in the light.

A single sunbeam is enough to drive away many shadows. ~Francis of Assisi

Metaphorically speaking, to lurk in the shadows is a form of hiding oneself, and to walk in the light is accepting oneself.

You’re reading a continuation of a series. To start at the beginning click here: My Night Revelation or link to the mobile series and read them all in one spot.

The fifth revelation I received during that night last June said:

Walk in the light.

I’d like to go a step further in comparison of the two choices I laid out, hiding oneself versus accepting oneself.

Lurking in the shadows, or hiding oneself, gives the impression of self loathing. Maybe labeling “lurking in the shadows” as a form of “self loathing” seems strong.

Yet, what other conclusion can be drawn?

Hiding, walking in the shadows, must mean you are either incapable or unwilling to show your true self.

Why?

One of the hardest things to do is putting your true self on display. Shadows masquerade, they let you grant only the glimpses you’ll allow people to see. It’s safety.

Stepping from the shadow isn’t always easy.

I interpret my fifth revelation, walk in the light, as a call to action.

The revelation is encouraging me to clean out the cobwebs, grab my broom and dust pan, sweep away the dirt in the corners, then leap from the shadow and allow the brightest light to illuminate me and my path.

It means stop hiding my true self and let my true self surface. Let my true self shine.

He that has light within his own clear breast may sit in the center, and enjoy bright day: But he that hides a dark soul and foul thoughts benighted walks under the mid-day sun; himself his own dungeon. ~John Milton

As light is the only remedy for darkness. Love is the only remedy for loathing.

Self love. It’s gained through openness and acceptance.

Being in the bright light of the day means you become transparent. When you love yourself, transparency is easy. You can live with authenticity and integrity. Truth.

Were you not meant to be you? Was it a mistake? The answer is no.

Don’t “hide away in the shadows” afraid of being yourself. You were made “you” for a reason.

When you accept and appreciate yourself, you are proud of who you are and what you have to offer. When your authentic self is available to the world you have no apologies to make.

You are indeed walking in the light.

What’s next? A sneak peak at the next night revelation. The sixth statement I wrote that night said, “Make peace.”

MadeYouThink!

Before you go, Paula writes positive daily posts that uplift, inspire, and motivate. Get one to enjoy with your coffee every morning by subscribing below . . .

--

--

Paula Thomas
MadeYouThink! with Paula Thomas

I seek to help people know and understand their power to think. #Thinking#Inspiration#Motivation#Uplifting#Positive