I Want To Travel To Your Hometown Or Favorite City!

Tyler Goelz
Make Your Next Trip Unforgettable
3 min readOct 29, 2014

--

I’ve taken many-a-road trip through the majority of the United States in my MINI Cooper. I’ve been nearly everywhere in The South, up-and-down The West Coast, through the Mid West, and all over New England.

One of the best parts about traveling by car is that I get a chance to visit smaller towns in-between bigger cities. I have also found myself visiting and staying in cities I would not have thought I was interest in just to find out it is great.

Another great advantage to driving is the freedom to meet people in larger cities then organize short trips to smaller towns that they‘ve had a chance to scope out.

Let’s spend a day in Portland!

During my recent stay in Boston, I went to a sports bar with a friend to watch a college football game with his friends. Within five minutes of meeting two of his friends, we had a camping trip planned to Portland, Maine. We spent the next week planning where to stay in Portland deciding to camp on the outskirts of the city instead.

If I hadn’t met these two, I would have never thought to make my way to Bradbury Mountain State Park. If I didn’t drive on my way through the country, I wouldn’t have been able to offer my car up for the trip.

Here is where it having the ability to drive new friends to locations I’ve never heard of pays off:

The two of them are architects and suggested a pit stop along the way to Bradbury in a small town called Exeter in New Hampshire. There, they wanted to see the Exeter Public Library. Throughout school, they had studied and written multiple papers about this library, but never had the opportunity to visit.

As we were leaving, they both told me seeing the library was on their bucket list and I personally helped them put a check mark next to it. W00t!

I even got to snap some really great pictures of fall for my sister back home:

Some of my favorite places to visit have been suggested to me by someone I had met along my travels and known for a short period of time.

Whether the city was their hometown, their college town, or a place they escape to they had great suggestions on where to go and what to do.

If You’re A Badass, This Section Is For You:

Here’s what I’m asking: I’m want to visit your hometown and/or favorite city! Don’t know where to start? Here are a few things you could share:

  • Are you from a big city? Do you have secret staycation spot on the outskirts?
  • Are you from a small town that is a hidden gem?
  • What is your favorite thing to do there?
  • Is there someone there that you grew up with or consider a best friend?
  • Where is the best place(s) to eat and/or get a drink?

What you get out of it:

  1. The satisfaction of knowing you’re a badass.
  2. A Medium post written by me about my stay in any selected place.
  3. If you are there when I am, we will definitely hang out and explore together.
  4. The person that recommends a selected place will get crazy shout outs, tweets, mentions, and, considering you’re around, a lot of high-fives.

Hit the button that says “Write a response” at the bottom of this page, and tell me about your hometown and/or favorite city!

--

--