Should we believe in the assessment?

kunjie Xi
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 21, 2021

Have you guys heard about or taken some assessments before? No matter it is about your career, personality, or even relationship, Will you believe it?

Here is my funny and stupid story I want to share with you before telling the answer. I have taken an assessment about analyzing what brings your luck. You need to fill out some basic information about yourself, like gender and born date. And then answer some questions about things you like to do. After you finish all of them, you will get a report which shows your lucky color, lucky clothes, or anything that will bring your luck. I remember my lucky color is blue, and if I want to be lucky, I need to put some nails into my pocket. Sounds ridiculous, right? But guess what, I believed it. One day, I had a math test, and I wear my blue t-shirt and brought nails in my pocket; I was so confident to take this math test and even did not review it. Of course, the test result was bad, and I didn't even get a multiple-choice right. How lucky I was!

I know this kind of assessment is not professional and authoritative, but it does give me confidence when I know my luck symbol. What important is not the result or report you have, but what it does to you.

So, My answer is NO. At least for me, I won't believe the assessment, but I regard them as a reference. It's an excellent opportunity to give you some time to analyze and insight into the result you have. I just did a marketing-based communication assessment called “How To Fascinate You” yesterday. It’s fun and exciting for me to have time to examine myself through 28 questions. My archetype is “ ACE” which can be described as tireless, decisive, and forthright. Ace are strong leaders and likely to take control regardless of seniority on the team. My primary advantage is “Alert,” and my secondary advantage is “Power”.

(A screenshot of the Ace archetype from Fascinate report)
A screenshot of advantages from report
(A screenshot of advantages from the report)

I like this result with an archetype “Ace” and advantage “Alert” and “Power”, but I don't think that is true for me (If you want to know me more, you can check my first blog). I’m hardworking and comfortable taking big goals, but it’s hard for me to make a decision quickly. There are lots of internal or external reasons I will consider. How do my teammates think? Will they agree with my decision? If I make this decision, what kind of result will it turn to? However, after reading the report, I realize how important proactive and decisive is. The report gives me a lot of directions and suggestions on how to prepare for my future career. That is what I believe from this assessment.

Moreover, no matter what kind of assessment, from a Marketing perspective, they all have the purpose: reach more people and get more attention. They will convert your information to the value they want. Should we believe in the assessment? No, but regard them as a reference to drive you to success.

(I post the link for the “How to Fascinate You”. If you are interested, feel free to take a look and share your opinion).

--

--