What’s My Brand?

Aika Chen
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 2, 2022

Self-assessment tests are always fun. Answers a few questions. Discover what category I fit. Knowing how cool (or ordinary) I am.

I like them because I constantly crave confirmation of my quality and hope that they will reveal previously unknown information about me.

Today I tried the HOW TO FASCINATE test by Sally Hogshead. It is the first assessment test that shows me how people perceive me instead of just a self-report. It helped me to understand what kind of first impression I’m making…in other words, it provides some insights into the question,

“What’s my brand?”

The Subtle Touch

Primary for me was Mystique. The secondary was Passion. This combo meant my archetype is “The subtle touch.” Here’s what my report says about my type:

“I have a combination of rational thinking and warm communication”

Apparently, the world sees me as someone who

  • Intrigue others with understated communication
  • Possess rational thinking and a warm personal style
  • Easily connect with people with an affectionate, friendly approach. Yet at other times who don’t show the inner emotions
  • Discreet — who tend to be a quiet worker who gets on with your job
The Actual Result

The results feel very true to me. I had many people tell me I look very calm even in a stressful situation. Thanks to my primary mystique personality, I found myself always trying to keep my emotions under control to become more content with my life and my interactions with others.

This combined with my Secondary Advantage, passion, means I’m able to create strong and immediate emotional connections. I’m not a very expressive person but I can attract personal and professional style of interaction. As I mentioned in my first blog, I have lived in serval countries during my youth, and I always had the perks of being able to communicate effectively across cultures.

How to use my Brand?

The ability to hide my feelings is an advantage in maintaining my cool, even while I work under pressure. I’m able to make decisions based on rational facts, but I can let emotions play a role when it’s needed. Emotion is always one of the super weapons in marketing! Most importantly, I can now tap into them to create a more influential message and elicit the desired response.

We have been told to “be yourself” a thousand times, but no one really told us to see ourselves objectively, so we know what makes us uniquely valuable. It was a very good opportunity to learn how others see me and what to use my own brand fascinate the world.

If you ever wonder what archetype you are, you can take the test here.

Of course, if you can provide any insight about me, I’d love to hear that too. I think I still have a lot to learn about my brand!

--

--