Like the Paper Bag Princess

Defeating a cockatrice

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Marlene in a Pub

--

Photo by Alyssum Mormino on Unsplash

How many times did I sneak inside?
bite my tongue
cut my lip
stitch a rift

How many times did I take the fall?
sweep it under
paint a smile
dress it up

How many times did I think I was faulty?
broken wings
drama queen
puppet on a string

How many times did I wait to be saved?
fairytales
movie reels
love songs

When I had more of a chance of being saved
by a cockatrice, than you.

At least the paper bag princess
knew just what to do…

Lindsay Soberano-Wilson is the editor of Put It To Rest. Casa de mi Corazón: A Travel Journal of Poetry & Memoir is available at lindsaysoberano.com. Find her on Medium, Instagram, or Twitter. Lindsay Soberano-Wilson©2021.

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Marlene in a Pub

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson