10 Thoughts | Day 14

Matt Blank
Learning Machine
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2017

Augmenting My Reality

With major tech companies like Snapchat, Facebook, and Apple leading the charge, AR is about to become a major part of our immediate technological future. While some people are wasting time making real-life Mario in AR (okay, that’s actually really freaking cool), here are the first 10 AR products I’d build:

1 | Books
I’m not sure my scatterbrain can handle it, but it would be amazing to have a book come to life with images and videos that pop up alongside the exact text you’re reading

2 | Fantasy Football
Revolutionize my Sundays by having RedZone and my fantasy football live scoring feed in one view

3 | Watching Sports
I’m a stats nerd, so it would be great to have key stats updating in real-time next to the screen as opposed to having to check the Caps’ shot totals on my phone

4 | Playing Sports
Imagine watching Steph Curry shoot a 30-foot 3-pointer then being able to follow his exact footwork and shooting technique? I’d still miss, but I’d look like a 2-time MVP doing it

5 | Finding Stuff I Inevitably Lose
I’m on my 4th pair of Ray Bans in 3 years, and would love for all the stuff I lose to highlight in neon yellow when I’m trying to find it

6 | Cooking
Get one step closer to my black belt in grilling with guided master-classes in bbq

7 | Exercising
A lot of people have terrible form when they exercise (myself included), so it would be great to get virtual coaching on technique

8 | Trying On Clothes At Home
Clothing sizes are inconsistent from store to store, so it would be awesome to “try clothes on” at home before I buy online

9 | Testing Furniture At Home
I’m moving in a few weeks and trying to buy furniture, and it would be great to be able to see how furniture would look in my room before I buy it

10 | Virtual White Boarding
I’m a staunch white boarder, so much so that I have a glass white board hanging up in my room (I know what you’re thinking, and yes, I am that cool)…it would be sweet to be able to have people I’m working on projects with brainstorm virtually on the same phsyical space

--

--

Matt Blank
Learning Machine

Teaching entrepreneurs to code their own products @ likeiamfive.com, studying @ Harvard Business School